Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template



An act relating to emergency management and public safety.

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First:  In Sec. 5. 20 V.S.A. §3a(a) subdivision (1) after the follows: “lives and property” by inserting the following: including domestic animals

Second:  In Sec. 22, by striking out subsection (a) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (a) to read as follows:


(a)  A state emergency response commission is created within the department of public safety.  The commission shall consist of 11 15 members, six ex officio members, including the commissioner of public safety, the secretary of natural resources, the secretary of transportation, the commissioner of health, the secretary of agriculture, food and markets, and the commissioner of labor and industry, or their designees; and five nine public members, including two representatives of a representative from each of the following:  local government, one of which shall represent a local emergency planning committee, a regional planning commission, the fire service and one shall represent the police, a representative of the transportation industry, a representative of, law enforcement, emergency medical service, a hospital, an industry required to report to the commission, and one representative of the  a representative of the Vermont Humane Federation and the Humane Society of the United States one representative of the public.  The director of emergency management shall be the secretary of the commission without vote.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont