Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-455.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Vergennes Union High School Commodores Division II championship cheerleading team.


Offered by:  Representatives Clark of Vergennes, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Baker of West Rutland, Brennan of Colchester, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Condon of Colchester, Darrow of Dummerston, Dates of Shelburne, Deen of Westminster, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Heath of Westford, Hudson of Lyndon, Hunt of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Koch of Barre Town, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, Livingston of Manchester, Louras of Rutland City, Malcolm of Pawlet, Marcotte of Coventry, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, McAllister of Highgate, McFaun of Barre Town, McLaughlin of Royalton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Minter of Waterbury, Morley of Barton, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Niquette of Colchester, Nuovo of Middlebury, O'Donnell of Vernon, Orr of Charlotte, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Pellett of Chester, Perry of Richford, Potter of Clarendon, Reese of Pomfret, Sharpe of Bristol, Smith of Morristown, Sweaney of Windsor, Tracy of Burlington, Trombley of Grand Isle, Westman of Cambridge, Winters of Swanton and Wright of Burlington

Offered by:  Senators Ayer and Giard

Whereas, it had been 17 years since the Vergennes Union High School cheerleading Commodores won a state championship title, and

Whereas, the 2005–2006 enthusiastic Commodore cheerleaders demonstrated a sharp sense of team coordination and precision timing, and

Whereas, at the 2006 state cheerleading championship held at the Champlain Valley Exposition grounds in Essex, the well-rehearsed Commodores were prepared to perform with agility and polish, and

Whereas, the Commodores rejected traditional cheerleading musical accompaniment and opted instead for heavy metal rock music with an edgy sound that they modified for cheerleading purposes, and

Whereas, the combination of solid preparation, innovative music, and a first-rate presentation all contributed to Vergennes earning the highest score at the competition an impressive 181 points, and

Whereas, this was approximately 20 points more than Vergennes’ nearest competitor, and

Whereas, the Commodores were delighted to return home with the 2006 championship title in hand, and

Whereas, this enthusiastic team of high school cheerleaders, including Kayla Pixley, Danica Stetson, Kim Worley, Ashley Bushell, Elizabeth Goyette, Amber Braun, Whiteny Denny, Alexis LaBarge, Heather Marcelle,  Gracie Lange,  Lily Maxham, Ali Predom, Kelli Cogger, Belinda Hall, Jenny Johnson, Lilly Allen, Jacky Schoonmaker, Allyson Kilbride, Shannon Trayah, Dana O’Brien, and April Karzmarczyk, all deserve credit for their team’s success, and

Whereas, Coach Deb Hall and Assistant Coach Dani Hausler provided great leadership and support for the team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Vergennes Union High School Commodores Division II championship cheerleading team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Deb Hall at Vergennes Union High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont