Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-124.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Cabot High School Huskies 2005 Division IV championship boys’ basketball team.


Offered by:  Representative Larrabee of Danville.

Offered by:  Senator Cummings of Washington District, Senator Doyle of Washington District and Senator Scott of Washington District.

Whereas, the Cabot Huskies boys’ basketball team has been a powerhouse in Division IV throughout the 2004-2005 season, impressing opposing squads and coaches wherever it has played, and

Whereas, when the Huskies tipped off against the West Rutland High School Golden Horde, an agile team with an uncanny determination to rebound from behind no matter how dire the prospects, the Cabot boys did not envision an opponent so tenaciously determined to win, and

Whereas, although West Rutland had established an early 13-9 lead at the first quarter’s conclusion, by the midgame break, the Huskies were the owners of a modest but viable 30-22 lead, and

Whereas, as the second half proceeded, Cabot’s offensive domination of the game became increasingly evident as the third quarter ended with a very comfortable 16‑point Huskies' margin of 44-28, and

Whereas, despite this seemingly insurmountable advantage, the Huskies learned a most valuable lesson during the game and season’s final quarter that brought special meaning to their ultimate victory, and

Whereas, the Golden Horde’s remarkable skill to rebound from adversity was on display as West Rutland chipped away at the Cabot lead and even took brief turns on the upper side of the score although Cabot, due to the success of Ian Ackermann’s five three‑three point scoring plays, was back in command at 49-37 with slightly better than 3 minutes remaining, and

Whereas, with Cabot commanding a tenuous 54-52 lead with 1:18 left, Ian committed his fifth and final foul, and left the game involuntarily, and

Whereas, despite West Rutland’s subsequently tying the game at 54, Cabot proved to be the winner as it scored once more to capture the 2005 Division IV title 56-54, and

Whereas, Coach Billy Waller can be extremely proud of his players, including Casey Cochran, Rhett Fitzgerald, Greg Molind, Tim Considine, Matt Dudley, Ian Ackermann, Sam Tormey, Jesse Fitzgerald, Brant Billings, Levi Mclellen, Ryk Atkinson, and Bobby Martino, for both their on‑court performance and good sportsmanship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Cabot High School Huskies 2005 Division IV championship boys’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Billy Waller at Cabot High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont