Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-100.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Bellows Free Academy-St. Albans Bobwhites 2005 Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team.


Offered by:  Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Parent of St. Albans City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Howrigan of Fairfield and Branagan of Georgia.

Offered by:  Senator Collins of Franklin District and Senator Kittell of Franklin District.

Whereas, the third-seeded Bellows Free Academy (BFA)-St. Albans Bobwhites boys’ ice hockey team was well prepared for the daunting challenge of defeating top-seeded Champlain Valley Union High School (CVUHS) when the two squads faced off for the Division I title, and

Whereas, playing before a large crowd of both teams’ supporters at the University of Vermont’s Gutterson Fieldhouse, the Bobwhites took the lead on a Wade McDonald goal in the middle of the opening period, and quickly thereafter, with assistance from teammate Charlie Mildrum, increased the BFA-St. Albans lead to 2-1, and

Whereas, although CVUHS did score a goal prior to the first period’s conclusion, it proved to be that team’s only posting on the scoreboard, and

Whereas, the 2-1 BFA-St. Albans lead held through nearly the balance of the contest in large measure due to the tremendous performance of Bobwhite goalie Todd Broderick whose 23 saves included a pivotal defensive play preventing CVUHS from tying the game with 4:23 remaining to play, and

Whereas, any doubts that the Bobwhites were taking home the Division I title were squelched when Kyle Taylor scored a series’ concluding final goal with only 11 seconds remaining to play, assuring the team’s 3-1 game victory,

Whereas, Bobwhites Rob Lussier, Jon Gage, Jacob Walsh, Dusty Lussier, Doug Wild, Miles Lawler, Coty Root, Mark Collins, Charlie Sargent, Josh Hungerford, Ian Toof, Josh Corrigan, Kevin Hurlbut, Charlie Mildrum, Dan Fitzgerald, John Boudreau, Josh Lesperance, Kyle Taylor, Wade McDonald, Corey Hamblett, Brandon McNeice, RJ Branon, Tom McGinn, Ian Susslin, Ryan Branon, Bud Handy, and Todd Broderick, deserve commendation for their individual contributions to the team’s fantastic season, and thank team managers Derek Thompson and Brion Houston for their support, and

Whereas, Head Coach Toby Ducolon and assistant coaches Tom McDonald, Bill Corbo, and Jon Haynes each contributed essential guidance to the team from preseason practice to the closing seconds of the championship contest, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Bellows Free

Academy-St. Albans Bobwhites 2005 Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Toby Ducolon at Bellows Free Academy-St. Albans.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont