Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-50.  House concurrent resolution honoring retiring and former justices of the peace serving the town of Bennington.


Offered by:  Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Corcoran of Bennington, Krawczyk of Bennington and Mook of Bennington.

Offered by:  Senator Sears of Bennington District and Senator Shepard of Bennington District.

Whereas, the citizens of Bennington respect the office of justice of the peace, and

Whereas, Bennington’s electorate has always selected justice of the peace candidates based on their ability to serve and not on their party affiliation, and

Whereas, the justices of the peace, along with the selectboard members, the town clerk, and the assistant town clerk comprise the membership of the Bennington Board of Civil Authority, and

Whereas, the Bennington Board of Civil Authority’s members have always conducted their business, including reviewing tax appeals, sitting as the board of abatement, and acting as election officials in a nonpartisan manner, and

Whereas, in recent decades, a number of outstanding individuals have served as Bennington justices of the peace, including Joseph F. Carroll Sr., first elected in 1964 and who served for many years as chair of the board of civil authority; John R. Stone Jr., first elected in 1972; Mary Ann Pembroke, first elected in 1998; Barbara Bluto, first elected in 1996; Dorothy Carroll, first elected in 2000; John Page, first elected in 1994, all of whom have decided not to seek reelection in 2004; Anthony Pello, first elected in 1970, and Lucy Pello LeRay, first elected in 1974, both of whom retired from their roles as justices of the peace in 2003, and the late Paul Bohne Jr. who served from 1998 until his death in early 2005, and

Whereas, the citizens of Bennington have been extraordinarily fortunate to have such outstanding individuals serving the town as justices of the peace and members of the Board of Civil Authority, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is pleased to honor all of the retiring and former Bennington justices of the peace, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each individual listed in this resolution and to the family of the late Paul Bohne Jr.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont