ACT NO. 188
Motor vehicle dealers; plates for disabled; operator license
issued to residents; learner permits; inspection mechanic
certificates; motor vehicle points; gasoline tax bonds
(1) Amends the definition of "motor vehicle dealer" in the motor vehicle statutes by providing that such a business be open for at least 146 days during a calendar year.
(2) Authorizes the issuance of special registration plates for persons with disabilities to be used on leased vehicles and provides that the professional certification for these plates may be from a certified physician's assistant or licensed advanced practice registered nurse, in addition to a licensed physician.
(3) Provides that a motor vehicle operators' license may be issued only to residents of Vermont.
(4) Provides that any Vermont resident 15 years of age or over, but under 18 years of age, who has no convictions under specifically named motor vehicle statutes and any Vermont resident 18 years of age or over, may apply to the commissioner of motor vehicles for a learner permit. However, a nonresident may be issued a learner permit if the permit is required for participation in a driver education and training course.
(5) Provides that an inspection mechanic certification shall remain in effect for a period of five years unless it is surrendered, suspended, or revoked.
(6) Repeals the requirement that the department of motor vehicles send a notice to a person whose motor vehicle point accumulation reaches 50 percent of the number for a license suspension.
(7) Provides that an appeal from a decision of a hearing officer at the judicial bureau stays the imposition of motor vehicle points. Current law only stays payment of a penalty.
(8) Requires that the surety bonds required of gasoline distributors be reviewed annually by the department of motor vehicles in September rather than in November.
(9) Provides an exemption from payment of the motor vehicle purchase and use tax for vehicles that have been registered to the registration applicant for a period of at least three years in a jurisdiction that imposes a state sales or use tax on motor vehicles.
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street