ACT NO. 166
Motor vehicles; commercial driver license
This act aligns the state's commercial driver license program with federal requirements by:
(1) Excluding from the definition of "commercial motor vehicle" in the motor vehicle statutes military equipment owned or operated by the National Guard military technicians who are civilians required to wear military uniforms and equipment owned or operated by active duty U.S. Coast Guard personnel.
(2) Defining "gross vehicle weight rating" as the value specified by the manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight of a single or a combination vehicle.
(3) Authorizing the commissioner of motor vehicles to issue a nonresident commercial driver license to a person domiciled in a state while that state is prohibited, under federal law, from issuing commercial driver licenses.
(4) Authorizing the commissioner of motor vehicles to issue a commercial driver license which restricts the driver to vehicles not equipped with air brakes when the person either fails the air brake component of the knowledge test or performs the skill test in a vehicle not equipped with air brakes.
(5) Authorizing a commercial vehicle operator who is issued a commercial driver license by the Republic of Mexico to operate in this state under reciprocity provisions.
(6) Requiring the commissioner of motor vehicles to record disqualifications and convictions received by Vermont operators in other jurisdictions.
(7) Increasing the penalty imposed on any driver who violates or fails to comply with an out-of-service order from $1,000.00 to $1,500.00, and by increasing the penalty imposed on any employer who violates such an order, or who knowingly requires or permits a driver to violate an order, from $2,500.00 to $4,000.00. This act additionally defines this provision as a "traffic violation" in the motor vehicle statutes.
(8) Imposing a penalty of not more than $4,000.00 on any employer who knowingly requires or permits a commercial operator to violate the state railroad crossing law as it applies to commercial motor vehicles, and by defining this provision as a "traffic violation."
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street