View the complete text of this act


ACT NO. 157


Retail Theft; criminal

The act also expands the criminal offense of retail theft to include theft by alteration, transfer, or use of a counterfeit sales receipt or Universal Product Code (UPC) label. Retail theft in this manner is punishable with a fine of up to $1,000.00 and up to 2 years imprisonment. The following are also added and are punishable with up to 10 years in prison and up to a $5,000.00 fine: (a) possession of 15 or more altered, counterfeit, or reproduced sales receipts or UPC labels, (b) possession of a device used to alter labels, create counterfeit labels, or create sales receipts, (c) manufacture, sale, distribution, or knowing possession of a laminated or coated bag designed to shield merchandise from electronic or magnetic theft detector, and (d) manufacture, sale, distribution, or knowing possession of any tool or device designed to deactivate or remove theft detection devices without permission or ownership of the merchandise. This act raises the threshold of value for felony retail theft to $750.00 of merchandise, increases the maximum potential fines for retail theft of all dollar amounts, and eliminates the enhanced penalty for a second or subsequent conviction of retail theft to conform with Act No. 156, Penalties for Larceny Crimes.

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont