NO. 96. AN ACT RELATING TO PROMOTING GOURMET FOOD AND BEVERAGE PRODUCTS BY PERMITTING TASTINGS OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AT VERMONT FOOD AND WINE EVENTS.
It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:
Sec. 1. 7 V.S.A. § 224 is amended to read:
§ 224. THIRD
SALE TO MINORS; OPEN
(a) The liquor control board may grant to a person who operates a hotel, restaurant, cabaret, or club a license of the third class if the person files an application accompanied by the license fee as provided in section 231 of this title for the premises in which the business of the hotel, restaurant, cabaret, or club is carried on. The holder of a third class license may sell spirituous liquors for consumption only on the premises covered by the license. The applicant for a third class license shall satisfy the liquor control board that the applicant is the bona fide owner or lessee of the premises and that the premises are operated for the purpose covered by the license.
* * *
spirituous liquors shall be sold by a third class licensee to a minor. A
person who holds a third class license shall purchase from the liquor control
board all spirituous liquors dispensed in accordance with the provisions of the
third class license and this title.
Sec. 2. 7 V.S.A. § 225 is amended to read:
CLASS LICENSE; PURCHASE OF LIQUOR FROM CONTROL BOARD EDUCATIONAL SAMPLING EVENT
person who holds a license of the third class shall purchase from the liquor
control board all spirituous liquors dispensed in accordance with the
provisions of such license and agreeably to the terms of this title.
(a) The liquor control board may grant an educational sampling event permit to a person to conduct an event that is open to the public and at which malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors or all three are served only for the purposes of marketing and educational sampling, provided the event is also approved by the local licensing authority. Attendees at the educational sampling event shall be required to pay an entry fee of no less than $5.00. At least 15 days prior to the event, an applicant shall submit an application to the department in a form required by the department. The application shall include a list of the alcoholic beverages to be acquired for sampling at the event, and the application shall be accompanied by a fee in the amount required pursuant to section 231 of this title. No more than four educational sampling event permits shall be issued annually to the same person. An educational sampling event permit shall be valid for no more than four consecutive days.
(b) An educational sampling event permit holder:
(1) May receive shipments directly from a manufacturer, bottler, certificate of approval holder, wholesale dealer, or importer licensed in Vermont or that provides evidence of licensure in another state or foreign country satisfactory to the board.
(2) May transport malt, vinous, and spirituous liquors to the event site, and those beverages may be served at the event by the permit holder or the holder’s employees, volunteers, or representatives of a manufacturer, bottler, or importer participating in the event, provided they meet the server age and training requirements under this chapter.
(3) Shall be subject to the requirements of this title.
(c) All the cases and bottles of alcoholic beverages to be served at the event shall be marked by the permit holder “For sampling only. Not for resale.”
(d) Taxes for the alcoholic beverages served at the event shall be paid as follows:
(1) Malt beverages: $0.265 per gallon served.
(2) Vinous beverages: $0.55 per gallon served.
(3) Spirituous liquors: $19.80 per gallon served.
Sec. 3. 7 V.S.A. § 231(15) is amended and (16) is added to read:
(15) For a wine tasting permit, $15.00;
(16) For an educational sampling event permit, $200.00.
Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall be effective on passage.
Approved: March 9, 2006
The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street