NO. 90. AN ACT RELATING TO RENEWAL OF A JUNIOR OPERATOR’S LICENSE PAST AGE 18.
It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:
Sec. 1. 23 V.S.A. § 607 is amended to read:
§ 607. JUNIOR OPERATOR'S LICENSE
(a) A junior operator's license may be issued initially only to persons who:
(1) are 16 and 17 years of age;
(2) have passed the driver examination required in subchapter 2 of this chapter and a driver education and training course approved by the commissioner of motor vehicles and the commissioner of education;
(A) possessed a learner's permit for not less than one year;
(B) submitted on a form provided by the department of motor vehicles which is approved by the commissioner, and certified by the operator's licensed parent or guardian, licensed or certified driver education instructor, or licensed person at least 25 years of age that there has been:
(i) at least 40 hours practice behind the wheel, at least 10 of which shall be nighttime driving; and that the operator was accompanied by their licensed parent or guardian, licensed or certified driver education instructor, or licensed person at least 25 years of age, riding beside the operator; and
(ii) have maintained a driving record without a learner's permit suspension, revocation or recall for six consecutive months prior to licensure.
(b) An applicant for a junior operator's license shall not be given a license unless his or her parent, guardian, or a person standing in loco parentis to him or her files a written consent with the commissioner.
(c) Any junior operator’s license may be renewed. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law, a renewed junior operator's license shall be issued without a photograph or imaged likeness. Any person to whom a renewed junior operator's license has been issued shall, while operating a motor vehicle, carry upon his or her person the last license issued to him or her as well as the renewed license certificate.
Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
Approved: February 24, 2006
The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street