Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-247.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the new Eagle Scouts of Troop # 701 in Waterbury.


Offered by:  Representatives Minter of Waterbury and Dostis of Waterbury.

Offered by:  Senator Doyle of Washington District, Senator Cummings of Washington District and Senator Scott of Washington District.

Whereas, scouting is a movement that challenges, inspires, and guides young men toward high achievements and high values as expressed in the Scout oath, law, motto, and slogan, and

Whereas, the continuation of scouting in Waterbury has been assured with the recent decision of American Legion Post # 59 in Waterbury to become the sponsor of Troop # 701, and

Whereas, Troop # 701 is proud of its record of accomplishment as four of its scouts, Darin Franklin, Devin Franklin, Thomas Griffin, and Joshua Utton, have completed their requirements to be inducted as Eagle scouts, the highest rank in boy scouting, and

Whereas, attainment of Eagle rank requires mastery of difficult challenges in diverse areas, and

Whereas, each of these young men completed a community service project as part of his requirement for rising to the rank of Eagle, and

Whereas, Darin Franklin directed a much needed restoration project of the nature trails at Harwood Union High School which the school’s athletic teams and members of the community use on a regular basis, and

Whereas, Devin Franklin organized and supervised a group of scouts who, over two intensive days of work, relocated the Waterbury Library’s book collection from the Waterbury Center Library at the Seminary Building to a storage facility in preparation for the library’s renovation, and

Whereas, Thomas Griffin designed, raised the funds for the production costs of, produced, and advertised a new brochure promoting the Waterbury Senior Center’s Meals on Wheels program, and

Whereas, Joshua Utton organized the painting of a Grange building in Waterbury Center, whose primary users are senior citizens and were unable to undertake this beautification project, and

Whereas, all four of these outstanding young men will be inducted into the special group of scouts who have attained the rank of Eagle at an Eagle Court of Honor to be held on June 1, 2005, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Darin Franklin, Devin Franklin, Thomas Griffin, and Joshua Utton on their attaining the rank of Eagle Scout, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send five copies of this resolution to Richard R. Gray in Waterbury Center.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont