Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-205.  Senate concurrent resolution honoring the Castleton State College Spartans East Coast Women's Collegiate Division III championship rugby club.


Offered by:  Senator Campbell of Windsor District, Senator Ayer of Addison District, Senator Bartlett of Lamoille District, Senator Collins of Franklin District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Coppenrath of Caledonia District, Senator Cummings of Washington District, Senator Doyle of Washington District, Senator Dunne of Windsor District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Gander of Windham District, Senator Giard of Addison District, Senator Illuzzi of Essex-Orleans District, Senator Kitchel of Caledonia District, Senator Kittell of Franklin District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator MacDonald of Orange District, Senator Maynard of Rutland District, Senator Mazza of Grand Isle District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District, Senator Mullin of Rutland District, Senator Scott of Washington District, Senator Sears of Bennington District, Senator Shepard of Bennington District, Senator Snelling of Chittenden District, Senator Starr of Essex-Orleans District, Senator Welch of Windsor District, Senator White of Windham District and Senator Wilton of Rutland District.

Offered by:  Representatives Canfield of Fair Haven and Helm of Castleton.

Whereas, during the past several fall seasons, the Castleton State College (CSC) women’s rugby club has demonstrated repeatedly that in Division III play, CSC is a club worthy of great respect, and

Whereas, although the Spartans had already developed an enviable reputation before last fall’s first game, the 2004-2005 fall season and spring tournament competition will be recorded as historic milestones in the club’s history, and

Whereas, the bright autumnal colors could not match the athletic pageantry on exhibit each time CSC took to the field before a hometown crowd, and

Whereas, the fall season concluded with the club’s sixth consecutive win, capping a perfect record for the Spartans and served as a great launching into the thrilling postseason playoffs, and

Whereas, after capturing both their conference’s and division’s titles, CSC won the Northeast Rugby Union Collegiate Division III championship game with a 25-0 victory over Niagara College, and

Whereas, the Northeast title gave the Spartans a berth in the East Coast Women’s Collegiate Division III championship which was sponsored by the Leigh Valley Men’s and Women’s RFC in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and

Whereas, in the first game at the East Coast Women’s Collegiate Division III championship, Castleton walloped Gettysburg College 50-0, scoring its highest single game point total of the season, and

Whereas, on Sunday, April 24, 2005, a cold, damp, dismal Pennsylvania day, these amazing women from Castleton State College took to the field against a physically larger, highly experienced team from Susquehanna College; battled through 80 minutes of grueling play, losing key player Sasha Parise to a season-ending knee injury; ending regulation play on a five-all tie; and sending the game into a 20-minute overtime period, and

Whereas, a scoreless overtime forced a physically demanding sudden death period of nearly 40 additional minutes before Castleton senior, Trudy Frasch, summoned the necessary fortitude and brute strength to force the ball into the end zone, resulting in the winning score, and  

Whereas, Spartan Dara Caputo was named the championship tournament’s most valuable player, and

Whereas, every player on this amazing CSC women’s rugby club, including Betsey Barrows, Ashley Bird, Kristina Boucher, Heather Bruce, Staisha Buxton, Meghan Campbell, Dara Caputo, Jennifer Catharine, Meghan Davis, Deveney Degre, Vicki Eggsware, Amanda Elam, Trudy Frasch, Jonna Green, Jennifer Gregor, Sara Heyer, Tara Hogue, Randi Howard, Kacey Knight, Heather Kurtz, Ditter Lapham, Amelia McConnell, Leslie Myers, Christina Neill, Amanda Nutter, Shannon O’Brien, Lauren O’Brien, Sasha Parise, Stacey Potter, Melissa Smith, Johanna Welch, and Simonne Gratton, contributed to the club’s success, and

Whereas, Coach Sandy “the Sandman” Stragnell deserves credit for the effort he has devoted to developing the Spartans into one of the nation’s most formidable Division III women’s college rugby clubs, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004-2005 Castleton State College Spartans East Coast Women’s Collegiate Division III championship rugby club, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Melissa Smith, captain of the Castleton State College Rugby Club, to Coach Sandy Stragnell, and to David Wolk, president of Castleton State College.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont