Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-186.  Joint resolution in support of the designation of the Connecticut River Byway as a National Scenic Byway.


Offered by:  Representatives Obuchowski of Rockingham, Deen of Westminster, Adams of Hartland, Bohi of Hartford, Chen of Mendon, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Johnson of Canaan, Kainen of Hartford, Larocque of Barnet, Marek of Newfane, Martin of Springfield, Masland of Thetford, Milkey of Brattleboro, O'Donnell of Vernon, Otterman of Topsham, Partridge of Windham, Peaslee of Guildhall, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Seibert of Norwich, Shand of Weathersfield and Sweaney of Windsor.

Whereas, the Connecticut River Scenic Byway consists of over 500 miles of roads in Vermont and New Hampshire that are situated along the Connecticut River and serves as a significant joint tourism development program, and

Whereas, the byway focuses on “authentic New England experience - historic villages, mountain views, working farms, home grown crops and crafts, and outdoor pastimes like fishing, boating, wildlife observation and hiking,” and 

Whereas, this two‑state byway is built upon the existing scenic roads in Vermont and New Hampshire, and was instituted, starting in 1997, under the auspices of the seven regional planning commissions whose territories border the Connecticut River and of the Connecticut River Joint Commissions (CRJC) and

Whereas, through CRJC‑facilitated forums, it was determined that the proposed byway should be based on local control, but that towns would need grant money to build welcome centers, and that once constructed, the centers should be staffed with volunteers, and

Whereas, in 1998, both New Hampshire and Vermont adopted the Connecticut River Byway roads into their state scenic byway systems, and

Whereas, waypoint interpretive centers promoting the Connecticut River Scenic Byway have been built in the Vermont communities of Bellows Falls, Windsor, White River Junction, Fairlee, Wells River, and St. Johnsbury, and in a number of New Hampshire towns, and

Whereas, in 2000, in order to meet the desire for a coordinating organization with a distinctive logo, the Connecticut River Scenic Byway Council, with an associated steering committee whose membership includes the Vermont Agency of Transportation, was established, and

Whereas, Connecticut River Scenic Byway projects have also included a four-panel display now exhibited at each waypoint center, a color illustrated travel map, a film, a website, and special signage that all promote the byway, and

Whereas, to date, the Connecticut River Scenic Byway has received both state and federal financial support through a variety of grants and appropriations, and

Whereas, the Connecticut River Scenic Byway Council will be nominating the Connecticut River Byway for inclusion on the list of National Scenic Byways, and

Whereas, a successful nomination would provide the Connecticut River Scenic Byway with additional sources of federal financial and technical support, and

Whereas, National Scenic Byway designation does not involve the taking of any private property or federal oversight, and

Whereas, designation as a National Scenic Byway will provide greater national media attention, including listing in the widely‑circulated Mobil Travel Guide, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly supports the designation of the Connecticut River Byway as a National Scenic Byway, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Sharon Francis, Executive Director of the Connecticut River Joint Commissions, and to the members of the Vermont Congressional Delegation.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont