Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-182.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2005 University of Vermont EISA championship ski team.


Offered by:  Representatives Atkins of Winooski, Tracy of Burlington, Allaire of Rutland City, Ancel of Calais, Audette of S. Burlington, Barnard of Richmond, Bohi of Hartford, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Cross of Winooski, Deen of Westminster, Donovan of Burlington, Endres of Milton, Evans of Essex, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hudson of Lyndon, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Lawrence of Lyndon, Leriche of Hardwick, Metzger of Milton, Miller of Elmore, Minter of Waterbury, Morrissey of Bennington, Partridge of Windham, Rodgers of Glover, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby and Sweaney of Windsor.

Whereas, the 2005 University of Vermont alpine and Nordic skiers mastered the snowy slopes and trails at this year’s EISA championship, garnering 903 points and capturing the school’s 29th EISA title in the last 30 years, and

Whereas, at the EISA championship, the Catamounts took three of the top four spots in the men’s 20-kilometer free technique event with Ethan Foster of Weston capturing first place with a time of 49:22.2, and the UVM women  earned three of the top 10 spots in the women’s giant slalom with Jamie Kingsbury of Waitsfield placing second with a combined time of 2:02.6, and

Whereas, the EISA crown was only the beginning of an exciting season finale for the Catamounts as they proceeded to the NCAA Ski Championship which UVM hosted at the Mount Mansfield Ski Resort and the Trapp Family Lodge cross country ski area, and

Whereas, at the NCAA championship, the Catamounts demonstrated that they can compete against the best collegiate skiers in the nation, and

Whereas, on the first day of skiing in Stowe, where the teams were forced to combat strong winds, UVM proved unbeatable in the giant slalom as three‑time All-American Jamie Kingsbury of Waitsfield won the women’s event, her second national championship in three years, with a combined two‑run time of 1:55.03, and Greg Hardy of Stratton captured the men’s event with a total time of 1:45.49, and

Whereas, at the completion of the four-day national championship, UVM was the top‑scoring eastern team with 575 points and second overall, an admirable accomplishment for the Catamounts, and

Whereas, UVM’s 2004-2005 men and women’s alpine and Nordic skiers, including Lowell Bailey, Sam Beck, Kelsy Bouchard, Zac Brown, Amy Cochran, Kate Crawford, Johnny Davidson, Emilia DeMarchis, Paul Epstein, Ethan Foster, Ryan Foster, Molly Gray, Jeff Hackett, Carina Hamel, Greg Hardy, Justin Hart, Drew Holbrook, Anja Jokela, Hunter Kaltsas, Jamie Kingsbury, Kerry Klauder, Madaileine Krebs, Jane Lemasurier, Erin Mascolino, Hilary McCloy, Jilyne McDonald, Anders Osthus, Jordi St. John, Ashley Spina, Maile Wade, and D. J. Wassick, all deserve commendation for a job well done, and

Whereas, the entire Catamount skiing coaching staff, including Head Alpine Coach Bill Reichelt, Assistant Alpine Coach Erica MacConnell, Head Nordic Coach Allan Serrano, Assistant Nordic Coach Liz Hollenbach, and Volunteer Assistant Nordic Coach Fred Fayette, provided outstanding support as did athletic trainer Kelly Johnson, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2005 University of Vermont  EISA championship ski team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bill Reichelt, and Allan Serrano at the University of Vermont Department of Athletics and to Gordon Woodworth at the University of Vermont Department of Athletic Communications.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont