Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-173.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004-2005 University of Vermont Catamounts America East Conference championship men’s basketball team.


Offered by:  Representatives Zuckerman of Burlington, Adams of Hartland, Allaire of Rutland City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Barnard of Richmond, Bartlett of Dover, Bohi of Hartford, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Brooks of Montpelier, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clark of Vergennes, Clarkson of Woodstock, Condon of Colchester, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Corcoran of Bennington, Cross of Winooski, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, DePoy of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Dowland of Holland, Dunsmore of Georgia, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Evans of Essex, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Grad of Moretown, Green of Berlin, Haas of Rochester, Head of S. Burlington, Heath of Westford, Helm of Castleton, Hosford of Waitsfield, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Howard of Rutland City, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hudson of Lyndon, Hunt of Essex, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of South Hero, Johnson of Canaan, Kainen of Hartford, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kiss of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Krawczyk of Bennington, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, LaVoie of Swanton, Lawrence of Lyndon, Leriche of Hardwick, Lippert of Hinesburg, Livingston of Manchester, Lorber of Burlington, Louras of Rutland City, Maier of Middlebury, Malcolm of Pawlet, Marcotte of Coventry, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, Martin of Springfield, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McCullough of Williston, McFaun of Barre Town, McLaughlin of Royalton, Metzger of Milton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Miller of Elmore, Minter of Waterbury, Molloy of Arlington, Monti of Barre City, Mook of Bennington, Morley of Barton, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Niquette of Colchester, Nitka of Ludlow, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, O'Donnell of Vernon, Orr of Charlotte, Otterman of Topsham, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Peaslee of Guildhall, Pellett of Chester, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Reese of Pomfret, Rodgers of Glover, Rusten of Halifax, Schiavone of Shelburne, Seibert of Norwich, Severance of Colchester, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby, Smith of New Haven, Smith of Morristown, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Symington of Jericho, Tracy of Burlington, Trombley of Grand Isle, Valliere of Barre City, Westman of Cambridge, Winters of Swanton, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington and Young of Orwell.


Offered by:  Senator Ayer of Addison District, Senator Bartlett of Lamoille District, Senator Campbell of Windsor District, Senator Collins of Franklin District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Coppenrath of Caledonia District, Senator Cummings of Washington District, Senator Doyle of Washington District, Senator Dunne of Windsor District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Gander of Windham District, Senator Giard of Addison District, Senator Illuzzi of Essex-Orleans District, Senator Kitchel of Caledonia District, Senator Kittell of Franklin District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator MacDonald of Orange District, Senator Maynard of Rutland District, Senator Mazza of Grand Isle District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District, Senator Mullin of Rutland District, Senator Scott of Washington District, Senator Sears of Bennington District, Senator Shepard of Bennington District, Senator Snelling of Chittenden District, Senator Starr of Essex-Orleans District, Senator Welch of Windsor District, Senator White of Windham District and Senator Wilton of Rutland District.

Whereas, the University of Vermont (UVM) Catamounts men’s basketball team’s impressive 2004-2005 record of 25-7 does not convey completely the grand triumphs that marked this extraordinary season that captured the hearts of all Vermonters, and

Whereas, this final season for veteran 19-year coach Tom Brennan proved to be a fantastic capstone for his career, and an historic pinnacle in the 105‑year history of UVM men’s basketball, and

Whereas, one of the memorable highlights was UVM’s rebounding from a 12-point fourth-quarter deficit to defeat UMBC 66-61 on senior night, the team’s final regular season home game, and

Whereas, the overwhelming 81-57 America East championship victory over Northeastern University at Patrick Gymnasium was the Catamounts’ third consecutive year winning this prestigious title, and

Whereas, these fantastic events were mere warm-ups for the NCAA tournament appearance on Friday evening, March 18, at the DCU Center in Worcester, Massachusetts, and

Whereas, no sportswriter could have imagined a more exciting scenario as the lead in this relatively low-scoring, and predominantly defensive, game switched eight times, and the two teams were tied on 11 occasions and overtime  became a necessity, and

Whereas, determined not to lose the opportunity of a lifetime, the spunky and determined Catamounts played to win as T.J. Sorrentine drilled a successful long three pointer and Martin Klimes added a late free throw, which sealed UVM’s 60-57 first round NCAA victory, and

Whereas, basketball fans everywhere, except in Vermont, were stunned as they witnessed 13th-seeded UVM’s triumph over 4th-seeded Syracuse, the first time a Catamount men’s basketball team had ever defeated a Big East team, and the first time it ever beat a nationally ranked opponent, and 

Whereas, in UVM’s second NCAA tournament game against Michigan State, during which the team made an outstanding effort, T.J. Sorrentine scored his 2,000th career point, becoming only the third Catamount to reach this elite plateau, and

Whereas, the 2004-2005 Catamount basketball team of T.J. Sorrentine, Kyle Cieplicki, Martin Klimes, Chad Powlovich, Taylor Coppenrath, David Hehn, Timothy McCrory, Germain Mopa Njila, Alex Jensen, Ryan Schneider, Josh Duell, and Chris Holm will always have a special place in the hearts of UVM fans, and

Whereas, Coach Tom Brennan, Associate Head Coach Jesse Agel, assistant coaches Patrick Filien and Jeff Rush, student assistant coach Jack Phelan, and athletic trainer and strength coach Chris Poulin were outstanding mentors and advisors for this extraordinary basketball squad, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004-2005 University of Vermont Catamounts’ America East Conference championship men’s basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send copies of this resolution to each of the players and coaches on this outstanding team and to Bruce Bosley at the University of Vermont athletic office.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont