Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-170.  House concurrent resolution congratulating Taylor Coppenrath of West Barnet on the conclusion of his historic basketball career as a University of Vermont Catamount.


Offered by:  Representatives Larocque of Barnet, Adams of Hartland, Allaire of Rutland City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Barnard of Richmond, Bartlett of Dover, Bohi of Hartford, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Brooks of Montpelier, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clark of Vergennes, Clarkson of Woodstock, Condon of Colchester, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Corcoran of Bennington, Cross of Winooski, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, DePoy of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Dowland of Holland, Dunsmore of Georgia, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Evans of Essex, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Grad of Moretown, Green of Berlin, Haas of Rochester, Head of S. Burlington, Heath of Westford, Helm of Castleton, Hosford of Waitsfield, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Howard of Rutland City, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hudson of Lyndon, Hunt of Essex, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of South Hero, Johnson of Canaan, Kainen of Hartford, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kiss of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Krawczyk of Bennington, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, LaVoie of Swanton, Lawrence of Lyndon, Leriche of Hardwick, Lippert of Hinesburg, Livingston of Manchester, Lorber of Burlington, Louras of Rutland City, Maier of Middlebury, Malcolm of Pawlet, Marcotte of Coventry, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, Martin of Springfield, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McCullough of Williston, McFaun of Barre Town, McLaughlin of Royalton, Metzger of Milton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Miller of Elmore, Minter of Waterbury, Molloy of Arlington, Monti of Barre City, Mook of Bennington, Morley of Barton, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Niquette of Colchester, Nitka of Ludlow, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, O’Donnell of Vernon, Orr of Charlotte, Otterman of Topsham, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Peaslee of Guildhall, Pellett of Chester, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Reese of Pomfret, Rodgers of Glover, Rusten of Halifax, Schiavone of Shelburne, Seibert of Norwich, Severance of Colchester, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby, Smith of New Haven, Smith of Morristown, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Symington of Jericho, Tracy of Burlington, Trombley of Grand Isle, Valliere of Barre City, Westman of Cambridge, Winters of Swanton, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington, Young of Orwell and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Offered by:  Senator Kitchel of Caledonia District, Senator Ayer of Addison District, Senator Bartlett of Lamoille District, Senator Campbell of Windsor District, Senator Collins of Franklin District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Coppenrath of Caledonia District, Senator Cummings of Washington District, Senator Doyle of Washington District, Senator Dunne of Windsor District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Gander of Windham District, Senator Giard of Addison District, Senator Illuzzi of Essex‑Orleans District, Senator Kittell of Franklin District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator MacDonald of Orange District, Senator Maynard of Rutland District, Senator Mazza of Grand Isle District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District, Senator Mullin of Rutland District, Senator Scott of Washington District, Senator Sears of Bennington District, Senator Shepard of Bennington District, Senator Snelling of Chittenden District, Senator Starr of Essex-Orleans District, Senator Welch of Windsor District, Senator White of Windham District and Senator Wilton of Rutland District.

Whereas, no one can doubt that the University of Vermont’s basketball annals will contain much praise for Taylor Coppenrath as he has helped spur extraordinary interest in the program at the dawn of the 21st century, and

Whereas, his superb skill handling a basketball became evident from his first year on the team in 2001, and throughout his career he has always stressed that he is first and foremost a team player, and

Whereas, each of Taylor Coppenrath’s four seasons at the University has brought special recognition to this outstanding hoopster who grew up along the shore of Harvey’s Lake in West Barnet and graduated from St. Johnsbury Academy, and

Whereas, at the conclusion of his freshman year, he was named the America East Rookie of the Year, and

Whereas, for three consecutive years, starting in 2003, Taylor Coppenrath has been honored as the America East Player of the Year, and

Whereas, other basketball honors bestowed on him have included a three‑time designation as a member of the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-New England team and his repeated winning of honorable mention recognition in the Associate Press’ All-American team project, and

Whereas, Taylor Coppenrath is only the second UVM player to score more than 2,000 career points, and he was a finalist for the Senior CLASS (Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award presented to the nation’s top senior player, as well as the prestigious John R. Wooden Award, and

Whereas, while hoping to play professional basketball, he is also preparing for the long term and, after graduation this spring, will be taking his state teacher’s exam with the intention of eventually becoming a math teacher, and

Whereas, Taylor has demonstrated an amazingly consistent work ethic, both on and off the court, and has not allowed all the publicity surrounding his basketball feats to change his desire always to do his very best, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Taylor Coppenrath as he concludes his historic career as a member of the University of Vermont Catamounts basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send copies of this resolution to Taylor Coppenrath in West Barnet and to Bruce Bosley at the University of Vermont Office of Athletic Communications.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont