Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-140.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the Rutland High School Lady Raiders 2005 Division I championship girls’ basketball team.


Offered by:  Senator Mullin of Rutland District, Senator Maynard of Rutland District and Senator Wilton of Rutland District.

Offered by:  Representatives Allaire of Rutland City, Baker of West Rutland, DePoy of Rutland City, Howard of Rutland City, Louras of Rutland City, Potter of Clarendon and Sunderland of Rutland Town.

Whereas, until 2005, the thrill of winning the Division I championship trophy had eluded the Rutland High School Lady Raiders girls’ basketball team, and

Whereas, a positive attitude and a spunky determination proved a winning formula as the Lady Raiders stormed through the playoffs, defeating both Spaulding and Rice Memorial High Schools, and

Whereas, having surpassed all the obstacles along the path to the championship game at the University of Vermont’s Patrick Gymnasium, the Lady Raiders faced their most formidable opponent, the third seeded and defending Division I champions, the Middlebury Union High School Tigers, and

Whereas, each team’s proclivity to employ a defensive strategy was apparent as the halftime score was a relatively low 17-11 with Middlebury in command, and

Whereas, despite trailing at the midpoint of the game, the Lady Raiders displayed a new and vigorous capacity to mount a successful offensive campaign, and

Whereas, junior Natalie Marchese charged ahead of the pack, scoring 13 points in the second half, including a psychologically crucial three‑pointer early in the third quarter, and

Whereas, the Lady Raiders late 15-0 domination of the Tigers proved the key to securing a resounding 36-26 victory, and Rutland High School’s first girls’ basketball Division I championship, and

Whereas, Lady Raiders Nisha Ballard, Carson Laderoute, Tara Sullivan, Natalie Marchese, Jamie Ravenna, Stephanie Casella, Kayla Leonard, Meagan Bragg, Brianne White, Laura Hassebroek, Janna Polgar, Kaleigh Sullivan, Megan Johnson, and Brittney Moore can all be proud of their great accomplishment, and

Whereas, team managers Katie Mitiguy, Marya Sullivan, and Rachel Ingalls and videographer Greg Rollins provided important support to the Raiders’ cause, and

Whereas, first year Head Coach Tom Geisler, with the able assistance of Assistant Coach Dan Bevis and Junior Varsity Coach Bill Greeno, has inaugurated his Rutland coaching career in fine style, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Rutland High School Lady Raiders’ 2005 Division I championship girls’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Tom Geisler at Rutland High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont