Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-139.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the Rutland High School Raiders 2004 Division I championship football team.


Offered by:  Senator Mullin of Rutland District, Senator Maynard of Rutland District and Senator Wilton of Rutland District.

Offered by:  Representatives Allaire of Rutland City, Baker of West Rutland, DePoy of Rutland City, Howard of Rutland City, Louras of Rutland City, Potter of Clarendon and Sunderland of Rutland Town.

Whereas, the Rutland High School Raiders football team completed the 2004 season with a 9-0 record against other Vermont high schools, and

Whereas, in the Division I championship game against the second seeded Middlebury High School Tigers, the Raiders’ Jake Eddy scored the opening six-pointer at 7:35 in the second quarter, and

Whereas, Middlebury replied with a touchdown of its own, and as the Raiders, failed to achieve any extra points, and

Whereas, Rutland then commenced a 75‑yard drive with three consecutive Steve Shortle completions, plus a successful point after, providing the Raiders a 13-6 lead, and

Whereas, the Tigers immediate scoring rejoinder consisted of a 76‑yard series of plays, minus a successful point after, leaving Rutland with a 13-12 lead with only 31 seconds remaining in the first half, and

Whereas, Raider Aaron Kraus recovered the kick‑off and rushed for 54 yards to the Middlebury 21, and on the next play, Tyler Perry caught a pass in the end zone, his first touchdown catch as a varsity player, increasing Rutland’s lead to 20-12 at halftime, and

Whereas, at 4:46 in the third period, Raider Mark Seager scored the game’s final touchdown, and Jake Eddy’s successful point sealed Rutland’s 27-12 victory, its second consecutive championship crown, and fourth in five years, and

Whereas, every Rutland High School Raider, including Jake Eddy, Tyler Perry, Pat Guyette, Angelo LaBate, Sam Reynolds, Brenden Meisinger, Steve Shortle, Ryan Corey, Jeremy McKeon, Jeff McLaughlin, Kirk James, Mark Seager, Britt Page, Evan Socia, Brian Therrien, Jake Estes, Matt Littler, Chris Cioffi, Mike Forte, Derrick Webb, Jackson Bouchard, Brett Parenzan, Aaron Kraus, Zack Thompson, Bradley Wilhelm, Travis Felion, Andrew O’Brien, Steve Bassett, Josh Hadley, Troy Forguites, Jon Wallett, Jim Meub, Randy Felion, Ron Daniels, Bill Mordecai, Rob Reis, Aaron Barclay, Garrett Brewer, Andrew Kieman, Bardia Razzaghi, Justin Piontek, and Mike Tobin, deserves credit for his role in the team’s great 2004 season, and team managers Vince Reynolds and Hannah Green assisted the team as needed, and

Whereas, the medical services of team physicians Drs. Keller and Boynton, athletic trainer Mike Dorion and Castleton State College student athletic trainers Tasha Gilman and Kit Vreeland were always appreciated, and

Whereas, the leadership and advice of Head Coach Michael Norman and his staff, consisting of Micky Caliguiri, Ron Sabataso, Tom Jacques, and Jerry Gorruso, were invaluable, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Rutland High School Raiders 2004 Division I championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Michael Norman at Rutland High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont