Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-114.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004 Mount Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship boys’ soccer team.


Offered by:  Representatives Fisher of Lincoln, Sharpe of Bristol, Clark of Vergennes and Smith of New Haven.

Whereas, achieving victory is not necessarily an easy task, as the fifth‑seeded Mount Abraham Union High School boys’ soccer team learned in the championship game against the third‑seeded Montpelier Solons, and

Whereas, in the third minute of the second period, Eagle midfield Cam Urban, with assistance from Tyler McGuire, scored the game’s first goal, and

Whereas, from that point forward, the Mount Abraham squad foiled a number of potential Solon goals, and

Whereas, despite the Eagles’ attentive defense, a strong Solon 18-yard kick landed inside the right post, tying the score at one-all and triggering overtime play, and

Whereas, although the Solons outshot the Eagles 9-5 during the first two overtimes, the point total remained the same, and

Whereas, in the third overtime, at the 119th minute of play, with the teams reduced to eight for each side, an exhausted Eagle striker, Caleb Doyle‑Burr, completed a double crossover against a Solon defender and kicked the ball to the penalty stripe, and teammate Todd Badger completed the play by sending the ball inside the left post for the Eagles’ 2-1 victory, and

Whereas, this exciting outcome reflected the team’s determination to win the championship after having nearly reached this objective in each of the last three seasons, and

Whereas, striker and midfielder Caleb Doyle-Burr, who scored 18 goals and eight assists in 2004, and his twin brother Silas, a back whose superb defensive skills limited the number of goals scored against Mount Abraham, were each named to the elite 11 of the Burlington Free-Press’ All-State High School Boys’ Soccer Team and as the co-players of the year on the Addison Independent Boys’ Soccer All-Star Team, and

Whereas, Eagles Silas Doyle‑Burr, Caleb Doyle‑Burr, Tyler McGuire, John Dunham, Corey Shepard, Craig Cheever, Thomas Mailloux, Stephen Cobb, Thomas Larson, Keil Corey, Todd Badger, Min Brown, Ben Sullo, Francis Miller, Bryan Miller, Schulyer Gale, Colin Alfred, Cam Urban, Austin Olson, and Nick Rutherford all made significant contributions to their team’s 14-3-1 season, and they all appreciated the assistance of team manager Gordon Holloway, and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Corey and assistant coaches Mark van Gulden and Dustin Corrigan offered excellent instruction and guidance, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004 Mount Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship boys’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike Corey at Mount Abraham Union High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont