Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-108.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Montpelier High School Solons 2005 Division II championship boys’ basketball team.


Offered by:  Representatives Brooks of Montpelier, Kitzmiller of Montpelier and Klein of East Montpelier.

Offered by:  Senator Doyle of Washington District, Senator Cummings of Washington District and Senator Scott of Washington District.

Whereas, Montpelier High School Solons’ boys’ basketball teams have labored mightily since 1949 for a state championship, and

Whereas, this 56‑year drought finally concluded as the Solons captured the 2005 Division II crown before a boisterous crowd of cheering and elated fans on Saturday evening, March 5, at the Barre Auditorium, and

Whereas, the Solons, though finishing with an outstanding 19-5 season record, needed to prove in the final two playoff contests that they were truly worthy of this long elusive athletic achievement, and

Whereas, in the semifinal game against the top‑seeded Springfield High School Cosmos, the fourth‑seeded Solons’ 28-20 second‑quarter lead dissolved into a 48-39 Cosmos’ advantage as the final quarter commenced, and

Whereas, recognizing the gravity of the situation, Montpelier opened the fourth quarter with an 11‑point offensive blitz, and outscored their opponents 21-10 in the last eight minutes to emerge with a 64-53 win, and

Whereas, in the championship game against second-seeded Mill River High School Minutemen, both squads were evenly matched as the lead bounced back and forth repeatedly until Mill River achieved a 20-18 lead shortly before the midgame break, and

Whereas, with under six minutes remaining, Montpelier’s championship hopes were rapidly fading as the Minutemen held a 38-30 lead, and

Whereas, once again, pending doom sparked a strong Solon offensive spree as the game was soon tied at 40‑40, but Mill River regained the lead 44-42 with just over two minutes remaining, and

Whereas, in a series of plays that will become legendary, the Solons executed a successful three-point shot that, with fewer than 10 seconds left, assured their 45-42 triumph and the Division II crown, and

Whereas, Solons Emmett Fitzgerald, John Dellipriscoli, Paul Waring, Ben Schneible, Jesse Pinkham, Tyler Aten, Ricky Powell, Thomas Passburg, John Slinkman, and Rubin Jennings are each to be commended for heroics on the basketball floor, and

Whereas, head Coach David Nelson and assistant coaches Lynn Ribolini and Mike Segale deserve special credit for their leadership, and

Whereas, Coach Nelson and his team derived inspiration from a legendary Montpelier  High School basketball coach, Lenny Drew, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Montpelier High School Solons 2005 Division II championship boys’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to David Nelson at Montpelier High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont