Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-13.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004 South Burlington High School Rebels Division II championship football team.


Offered by:  Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District and Senator Snelling of Chittenden District.

Whereas, the 2004 Division II championship football game pitted the South Burlington High School Rebels against the North Country Union High School Falcons, and

Whereas, although the Falcons had earlier in the fall defeated the Rebels 30‑16, South Burlington refused to permit a repeat of that result, and

Whereas, despite a scoreless first half, the Rebels overpowered the Falcons by every measure as they rolled to a 48-0 victory over their rivals from Orleans County, and

Whereas, at the 1:50 mark in the third period, Rebel C. J. St. Onge rushed for five crucial yards and put South Burlington on the scoreboard, and

Whereas, immediately thereafter, punting specialist extraordinaire Steve Ploof, kicked the first of six post-touchdown points, and

Whereas, less than three minutes later, Chris Gilding carried the pigskin ball 44 yards for the Rebels’ second touchdown, while later in the quarter, Jason Young ran an even longer distance, 62 yards, to give the Rebels their third six‑point gain, and just minutes later, he rushed another 16 yards and scored his team’s fourth touchdown, and

Whereas, with just seconds left in the third quarter, Steve Moore slipped across the goal line for the Chittenden County team’s fifth touchdown, while two further touchdowns on the part of Steve Young and Mike Jabour in the last quarter sealed an afternoon of dazzling gridiron offense, and

Whereas, each member of the Rebel squad, consisting of Steve Ploof, C.J. St. Onge, Keegan McLaughlin, Kyle Kelley, Tim Kynoch, Chris Gilding, Jason Young, Matt Maille, Kyler Parrow, Sol Bayer-Pacht, Mike Kokins, Steve Moore, John Hutchins, Rick Ragis, Taylor Devarney, Chris Mahl, Jason Adams, Isaac Cota, Zach Liberty, Kevin Kearns, Shayne Millette, Jason Dubie, Tim Arthur, Nick Fischer, Evan Cummings, Ross Clark, Keith Billings, Brian Kokins, John Ritchie, Joel McMahon, Mike Jabour, Tyler Jackson, Shaun Reynolds, and Nate Ransom, was an essential part of the victory, and

Whereas, Head Coach Joe McDonald, his assistant coaches Chadde Wolf and Ryan Navin, and Volunteer Coach Bernie Barone can all be proud of the 2004 South Burlington Rebels’ football team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004 South Burlington High School Rebels Division II championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Joe McDonald at South Burlington High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont