Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-12.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004 Rice Memorial High School Green Knights Division III championship football team.


Offered by:  Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District and Senator Snelling of Chittenden District.

Whereas, despite their undefeated regular season record, the Green Knights of Rice Memorial High School still had to play the four-time defending Division III champions Woodstock Wasps for the state title, and

Whereas, the psychological advantage of prior championship playing experience was demonstrated as the Wasps jumped to a 7-0 lead merely 12 seconds into the first period, and

Whereas, Rice’s Matt Tomkowicz soon replied in kind as he dashed 51 yards to bring the Green Knights within a point of their opponents, and

Whereas, shortly before the first quarter’s conclusion, Drew Macartney ran for a pivotal five yards which, in combination with quarterback Mike Kimball’s successful two-point conversion, gave the Green Knights a 14-7 lead, and they remained in command until the final whistle, and

Whereas, the third quarter featured three Rice touchdowns, including one in the form of Matt Kreutz’s 43-yard punt return and another based on Dan McCartney’s 30-yard post-interception run, and

Whereas, when the final game whistle sounded, the Green Knights held a commanding 37-14 lead and had clinched the 2004 Division III title, and

Whereas, Green Knights Matt Tomkowicz, Zach Defranco, Brian McClintock, Andrew Perron, Mike Kimball, Matt St. Peter, Joe O’Brien, Nate Crowley, Birney Boehland, Davidson Herberg, Ryan Michael, David Jensen, Steven Degree, Drew Macartney, Mike Shingler, Brett Basford, Joe Merritt, Kevin McGregor, Peter Bolanis, Jordan Matte, J.P. McCormick, Connor Mellen, Matt Briand, Collin Doris, Brendan McCarthy, Andrew Knox, Tyler Provost, Nate Denton, Vinny Franco, Ralph Alfieri, Ben Trottier, Andrew Preston, Josh Danis, Matt Kreutz, and Tyler Machia made individual contributions to the team’s 11-0 perfect season record, and

Whereas, Head Coach Tony Brice and assistant coaches Gary Provost, David Hibma, Jason Barron, Mike Thorne, Doug Dubie, Joe Larkin, and John Varrichione, provided their players with wise guidance, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004 Rice Memorial High School Green Knights Division III championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Tony Brice at Rice Memorial High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont