Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-11.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004 Champlain Valley Union High School Crusaders Division I championship boys' soccer team.


Offered by:  Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District, Senator Miller of Chittenden District and Senator Snelling of Chittenden District.

Whereas, after tying BFA-St.Albans in the 2003 post-season finale, the top‑seeded and undefeated Champlain Valley Union High School (CVU) Crusaders boys’ soccer team took the field at the 2004 Division I championship game determined to defeat the third-seeded Mount Mansfield Union High School Cougars and capture exclusive ownership of the Division I title, and

Whereas, the Crusaders scoring started early as Gardner Morrow kicked the ball into the Cougars’ net for the game’s initial goal at the 2:01 mark of the first half, and

Whereas, although the Cougars’ superb defensive skills prevented the Crusaders from scoring another point prior to the halftime break, the second half was a stunning example of the Crusaders’ offensive prowess, and

Whereas, at just over one and one-half minutes into the second half, Ashley Miller achieved his team’s second goal and doubled the Crusader lead to 2-0, and

Whereas, several minutes later, teammate Rem Kielman added a third goal to the Crusaders’ tally, and with five minutes remaining in the game, CVU’s Eli Gerson sealed his team’s victory when he scored the fourth and final goal enabling the Crusaders to defeat the Cougars 4-0, and

Whereas, the Crusaders’ 2004 Division I championship, and its accompanying 17-0-1 undefeated record, represent an amazing athletic accomplishment by a team that displayed great sportsmanship, and

Whereas, every CVU Crusader, including Ross Stirewalt, Ashley Miller, Alex Slauson, Reed Carr, Todd Shepardson, Mark Sienko, Rem Kielman, Ethan Morrow, Gardner Morrow, Brad Carlson, Luke Grover, Zach Sundby, Eli Gerson, Robin Pierce, Nick Mead, Tyler Clavelle, Jefferson Parker, Vasilis Varsakopoulos, Ian Dudley, Tyler Macnee, Andrew Lane, Hugh Kirkpatrick, Scott McLoughlin, and Andreas Varaskopoulos, deserves credit for contributing to his team’s enormous success, and

Whereas, Coach Dan Shepardson and assistant coaches Jeff Evans and Troy Paradee were great teachers and mentors for their players, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004 Champlain Valley Union High School Crusaders Division I championship boys’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Dan Shepardson at Champlain Valley Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont