Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-9.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2004 Champlain Valley Union High School Crusaders Division I championship girls' soccer team.


Offered by:  Senator Lyons of Chittenden District, Senator Snelling of Chittenden District, Senator Condos of Chittenden District, Senator Flanagan of Chittenden District, Senator Leddy of Chittenden District and Senator Miller of Chittenden District.

Whereas, the defending Division I girls’ soccer champions, the Champlain Valley Union High School Crusaders, strove to retain their 2003 crown as they proceeded through the 2004 season without a single defeat, and

Whereas, the Crusaders gathered at St. Michael’s College to play the 2004 championship game against the Mount Mansfield Union High School Cougars with a strong determination to repeat their previous season’s state championship victory, and

Whereas, the entire Crusader squad learned the importance of perseverance during the course of this 118-minute final post-season contest, and

Whereas, the two evenly matched teams battled to a scoreless tie at the end of the first period, making the concluding half extremely crucial, and

Whereas, with 22:48 remaining in the second half, the Crusaders’ hopes of repeating as champions suffered a temporary setback as the rival Cougars scored the game’s first point, and

Whereas, the two squads then resumed their scoreless ways until the Crusaders’ Kelly Sisco tied the game late in the second period on a 25-yard direct kick, forcing the players to compete in the first of ultimately three overtime periods, and

Whereas, with 2:09 remaining in the third overtime, a tired Crusader team, now reduced to eight players as were the Cougars, emerged victorious as CVU’s Meghan Howard clinched the Division I championship for her team on an 18-yard goal scoring kick, and

Whereas, Crusaders Paige Leenstra, Kelly Macnee, Meghan Patrick, Emily Milbank, Kaitlin Francis, Zellie Dunn-Morrison, Christy Wulfson, Eva Pellegrino-Young, Casey Geibink, Kelly Sisco, Elizabeth Parent, Joannie Gentile, Katie Stetler, Laura Sisco, Lily Kielman, Heather Demers, Abby Newton, Sarah Marston, Lauren Whalley, Katy Shaw, Meghan Howard, Eliza Bradley, and Nora Oliver deserve special recognition both for winning the team’s second consecutive state Division I title and for surviving an extraordinarily long day of intensive soccer competition, and

Whereas, Coach Brad Parker and assistant coaches Katherine Riley and Kristen Van Woert are to be congratulated for their outstanding efforts, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2004 Champlain Valley Union High School Crusaders Division I championship girls’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Brad Parker at Champlain Valley Union High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont