Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-206. JOINT RESOLUTION honoring the Bellows Falls Union High School Division II 2001 girls track and field team.

(J.R.H. 152)

Offered by: Representatives Obuchowski of Rockingham, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster and Partridge of Windham.

Whereas, interscholastic girls’ track and field competition encompasses running races of both short and long distances and athletic events, such as pole vault and the shot put, which test the participants’ skill and strength, and

Whereas, Bellows Falls Union High School is proud of its track and field program, having previously won the divisional title in 1997 and more recently, members of the team have earned individual event titles, and

Whereas, the Terriers were well prepared to perform their very best during the 2001 spring season, and

Whereas, during the season, the Terriers won team or individual titles at the Quad Cities Invitational, and the Weiser-Howard Weight Relays at Fall-Mountain, and

Whereas, these victories were indicative of the Terriers’ high caliber of performance throughout the spring, and

Whereas, at the state championship meet, which was hosted in the friendly environs of the Terriers’ home, Hadley Field, the girl track and fielders proved to be insurmountable as they substantially outdistanced all of their opponents with a final tally of 116.5 points, and

Whereas, Terrier Jenna Coffey captured her third straight 100-meter title, her second consecutive 200-meter victory, a first place in the 100-hurdles and a third-place finish in the triple jump, totaling 36 points for the day and enabling her to compete in all four events at the Vermont Meet of Champions, and

Whereas, Nikki Waysville won the one mile race in an excellent time of 5:05, while Stephanie Westcott crossed the finish line first in the grueling 3,000 meter race, completing the distance in a time of 11:02, and

Whereas, the other outstanding team members are Maureen Furlong, Sydney Allen, Ashley Young, Sue Jensen, Emma Harlow, Anne Skrocki, Amy Furgat, Meghan Obuchowski, Jamie Harlow, Ashley Crosby, Hanna Welch, Juli Venman-Clay, Anne Jensen, Caitlin Moore, Jenny Keefe, Erica Comstock, Sara Hearne, Katie Snyder and Sam Kulp, and

Whereas, Coach Tim Eno’s excellent guidance and leadership was a key factor in the Terriers’ victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Bellows Falls Union High School Division II 2001 girls’ track and field team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Tim Eno at Bellows Falls Union High School.