Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-182. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating Christopher Murphy and Molly Goldberg on their designation as 2001 academic Presidential Scholars.

(J.R.S. 70)

Offered by: Senator Costes of Franklin County, Senator Cummings of Washington County, Senator Doyle of Washington County, Senator Kittell of Franklin County and Senator Scott of Washington County.

Whereas, in 1964, President Lyndon B. Johnson signed an executive order establishing the Presidential Scholars program to honor the outstanding academic high school students from across the United States, and

Whereas, in 1979, the program was expanded to recognize top students in the performing and creative arts, and

Whereas, the Presidential Academic Scholars must have received one of the top 2,600 Scholastic Achievement Test scores in the country, and

Whereas, from this initial pool of contenders, a vigorous selection process, involving student essays, transcripts and teacher recommendations, is conducted, and

Whereas, an independent committee of teachers, under the auspices of the Commission on Presidential Scholars, chooses the finalists, consisting of one male student and one female student from each state, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, and Americans residing abroad, and an additional 15 students who are selected at large, and

Whereas, the finalists are ultimately selected based on their academic achievement, evidence of leadership, character and commitment to high ideals, and

Whereas, along with the separately-chosen Presidential Arts Scholars, the Presidential Academic Scholars gather in Washington, D.C. for an exciting week of seminars, museum visits and cultural performances, culminating in a special ceremony where each student receive a Presidential Scholars medallion, and

Whereas, Christopher Murphy, a student at Bellows Free Academy in Fairfax, and Molly Goldberg, who attends Montpelier High School, are the two 12th-grade students designated as Vermontís Presidential Academic Scholars for the 2000-2001 academic year, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is honored to congratulate Christopher Murphy and Molly Goldberg on their designation as Vermontís 2001 Presidential Academic Scholars, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send copies of this resolution to Christopher Murphy and Molly Goldberg at their respective high schools.