Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-172. JOINT RESOLUTION honoring the 2000-2001 Vermont recipients of the William Randolph Hearst Scholarships.

(J.R.H. 114)

Offered by: Representatives Vincent of Waterbury, Amidon of Charlotte, Dostis of Waterbury, Lippert of Hinesburg, Little of Shelburne, Quaid of Williston and Schiavone of Shelburne.

Whereas, the William Randolph Hearst Foundation has established a unique educational program that enables selected high school students from across the United States, who have served as student body officers, to represent their respective states in the United States Senate Youth Program, and

Whereas, the United States Senate Youth Program affords an opportunity for these high school students to visit our nationís capital and participate in an intensive introductory course on the workings of the legislative and executive branches of government, and

Whereas, the United States Senate, by resolution number 324 of the eighty-seventh Congress, enthusiastically endorsed this privately-financed youth program as an excellent opportunity to encourage these students "to deepen their interest in and understanding of their countryís political processes", and

Whereas, each student honored to participate in this program is also awarded a $2,000.00 college scholarship, and

Whereas, the Hearst Scholarship Committee, through the Vermont Principalsí Association, has selected two outstanding Vermont high school students, Sarah Anne Lewis of Harwood Union High School and Charles Douglas Ferreira of Champlain Valley Union High School as the 2000-2001 award winners in Vermont, and

Whereas, all of these young people serve as outstanding role models for the students at their respective high schools, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly extends its congratulations to Sarah Anne Lewis and Charles Douglas Ferreira as recipients of the 2000-2001 William Randolph Hearst Scholarships, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of these students at their respective high schools.