Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-151. JOINT RESOLUTION commemorating Vermontís observance, on May 3, 2001, of the National Day of Prayer.

(J.R.H. 117)

Offered by: Representatives Sheltra of Derby, Adams of Hartland, Baker of West Rutland, Bolduc of Barton, Cleland of Northfield, Goodridge of Albany, Haas of Rutland City, Hall of Newport City, Hudson of Lyndon, Kennedy of Chelsea, Kilmartin of Newport City, Molloy of Arlington, Otterman of Topsham, Shaw of Derby and Winters of Williamstown.

Whereas, the National Day of Prayer is a tradition first proclaimed by the Continental Congress in 1775, and

Whereas, prayer is part of our nationís and this stateís heritage, and

Whereas, legislation was enacted unanimously by both houses of Congress and signed into law by President Reagan in 1988 setting aside the first Thursday in May each year as a National Day of Prayer, and

Whereas, each day this body meets, we recognize the sovereignty of God and ask that Godís blessings lighten our burdens and light our way to truth, and

Whereas, the National Day of Prayer is an opportunity for Americans of all faiths to join in united prayer to acknowledge our dependence on God, to give thanks for blessings received, to request healing for wounds endured, and to ask God to guide our leaders and bring wholeness to Vermont, our nation and our citizens, and

Whereas, it is fitting and proper to give thanks to God by observing this day in Vermont where all may acknowledge our blessings and express gratitude for them, while recognizing the need for strengthening religious and moral values in our state and nation, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly pause in its deliberations to proclaim May 3, 2001 as "A Day of Prayer in Vermont", and urge the citizens of Vermont to observe this day and participate in ways appropriate to its importance and significance, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mrs. Shirley Dobson, President of the National Day of Prayer Task Force in Colorado Springs, Colorado.