Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-146. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the 2001 Vergennes Union High School Commodores Division II championship boysí basketball team.

(J.R.H. 106)

Offered by: Representatives McGrath of Ferrisburgh and Houston of Ferrisburgh.

Whereas, throughout the 2000-2001 basketball season, the boy Commodores on-court performance was always at the highest possible plateau of interscholastic athletic performance, and

Whereas, when the Commodores defeated rival Windsor High School by the overwhelming margin of 70-38 in the Division II semifinal playoff, there was no question that they had decisively earned a berth in the final game against the Lamoille Union High School Lancers, and

Whereas, the encounter with the Lancers proved challenging and exciting as the Commodores completed the first half with a narrow three-point 24-21 lead, and

Whereas, recognizing the historic significance of the occasion, the Commodores commenced the third quarter with a stunning 8-2 scoring advantage, and

Whereas, although the Lancers valiantly attempted to remain in contention, the Commodores, sparked by the teamís top scorer, Jesse Epstein, triumphantly defeated Lamoille Union High School 71-56, and captured their first Division II championship since 1985, and

Whereas, Vergennes Union High Schoolís most impressive final record of 23 victories, and merely a single defeat, is attributable to the outstanding team work of players Ben Epstein, Liam Quinn, Richard Krayewsky, Logan Becher, Michael Clark, Jason Ouellette, Jeff Krauss, Nate Schmidt, Ian Nimblett, Matt Krayewsky, Davin Torrey, Jesse Epstein, Eric Evarts, Sam Quinn and Jim Darragh, and their supportive corps of team managers, Sean Laflam, Tyler Maynard and Will Hastings, and

Whereas, the superb leadership and support of head coach Gene LeBeau who, based on his teamís outstanding performance, was chosen as Vermont Coach of the Year for the 2000-2001 interscholastic basketball season was an important factor in the teamís rousing success, and

Whereas, assistant coaches Peter Quinn and Ed Cook and athletic trainer Amy Pudvar were vital contributors in this most memorable season of Commodore boysí basketball, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Vergennes Union High School Commodores 2001 Division II championship boysí basketball team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Gene LeBeau at Vergennes Union High School.