Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-124. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriotsí 2001 Division I wrestling team.

(J.R.H. 87)

Offered by: Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Colvin of Bennington, Krawczyk of Bennington, Miller of Shaftsbury, Palmer of Pownal and Pembroke of Bennington.

Whereas, the Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriots wrestling team, under the incomparable leadership of coach Scott Legacy, had earned 11 consecutive Division I titles as the 2000-2001 mat season commenced, and

Whereas, prior to the championship tournament, the Patriots had amassed a stunning seasonal record of 28 victories and a mere single defeat, and

Whereas, this grand season already included the 2001 Marble Valley League championship based on a perfect league record of five victories and no defeats, and

Whereas, the extremely fit and well-trained Patriot wrestlers overwhelmed their nearest tournament competitors from Essex High School by the unbelievable score of 308.5 to 185, and

Whereas, in addition to Mt. Anthonyís garnering a 12th consecutive Division I championship, seven Patriot wrestlers, including Kyle Willard (112 pounds), Tyler Galipeau (125 pounds), Ben Lackey (135 pounds), Ken Jones (145 pounds), Ron Wright (152 pounds), T.J. Williams (160 pounds) and Steve Forrest (171 pounds), captured individual championship titles in their respective weight classes, and

Whereas, Mt. Anthony Union High School won a very respectable second place at the New England regional championships, and

Whereas, each of the outstanding Patriot wrestlers, including captains Kyle Willard, Kiel Santelli, Rick Serraro, Ben Lackey and Ron Wright, and their invaluable teammates Bill Harris, Ed Brown, Mike Powers, Jerremy Morin, Brett Miller, Nathan Hayes, Brendan Mance, Jesse Liimatainen, Paul Monick, Brad Krause and Chris Pruden, deserves credit for the teamís great display of wrestling technique, and

Whereas, the dedicated coaching staff that Head Coach Scott Legacy directs, including assistant coaches Bruce Lackey, Bucky Noyes, Rick Mattison, Fred LaBrake, Paul Dicranian, Tramain Cassano, Roy Slade and Dwayne Metcalf, Shawn Legacy, Eric Becker and Scott Elithorpe, is undoubtedly one of the finest group of coaches ever assembled for any high school wrestling program, and

Whereas, team managers Stacy Rondeau, Amanda Sausville, Tina Bugbee, Shirley Jewett and Emily LaBrake provided essential administrative support, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2001 Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriotsí Division I championship wrestling team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Scott Legacy and to Athletic Director Tim Brown at Mt. Anthony Union High School in Bennington.