Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-119. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the Mount Abraham Division II championship field hockey team.

(J.R.S. 49)

Offered by: Senator Gossens of Addison County.

Whereas, the game of field hockey entails rapid offensive decisions and an alert, and equally speedy, defensive response, and

Whereas, the Mount Abraham Eagles field hockey team, which in 1999 reached the championship match against Champlain Valley Union High School, focused its 2000 season on again earning a place in the ultimate game, and

Whereas, the Eagles' enthusiastic and determined playing style indeed culminated in a repeat championship berth against their rivals from Champlain Valley Union High School, and

Whereas, during the championship contest's first half, the two well-prepared squads ran out the clock to a scoreless tie, and

Whereas, recognizing that Division II championship dreams were now truly at stake, the Eagles rallied their forces early in the second half, as the goal-scoring duo of Miranda Jones and Michaela Casey enabled their team to assume a 1-0 lead, and

Whereas, Alexis Butlerís solo goal, in combination with the Eaglesí outstanding defensive tactics, assured that the 2000 title would reside with the women from Mount Abraham, and

Whereas, the entire Eagle field hockey contingent including players Desiree Roberts, Cortney Lucia, Lisa Buritt, Biff Steggerda, Tracy Apgar, Kasic Bingham, Alexis Butler, Jamie Bell, Jenna Casey, Miranda Jones, Michaela Casey, Ashley Harriman, Lily Atkins, Sarah Kwiatkowski, Lindsey Burritt, Kate Pellegrini, Megan Estey, Carissa Thompson-Snow, Lindsay Spaulding, Stephanie Butler, Liana Wilks-Dupoise, Sarah James, Krissy Jones, Kelly Cram, Saralynn Purinton, and team manager, Krista Patterson, deserve commendation on the clinching of a truly merited field hockey crown, and

Whereas, the coaching staff, including Head Coach Mary Stetson, and her able Assistant Coach Ann Pollender, inspired the Eagles to perform on the field at the highest possible caliber, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2000 Division II championship Mount Abraham High School field hockey team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mary Stetson at Mount Abraham High School.