Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-111. JOINT RESOLUTION urging the United States Postal Service to reconsider the issuance of a Purple Heart stamp to honor those veterans who suffered wounds during times of war.

(J.R.H. 79)

Offered by: Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Alfano of Calais, Allard of St. Albans Town, Anderson of Woodstock, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Bohi of Hartford, Brooks of Montpelier, Colvin of Bennington, Connell of Warren, Cross of Winooski, Dakin of Colchester, Darrow of Newfane, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Doyle of Richmond, Driscoll of Burlington, Emmons of Springfield, Fisher of Lincoln, Gervais of Enosburg, Grad of Moretown, Heath of Westford, Hingtgen of Burlington, Hooker of Rutland City, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hummel of Underhill, Jordan of Middlesex, Keogh of Burlington, Kiss of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Larson of Burlington, Lippert of Hinesburg, Little of Shelburne, Livingston of Manchester, Marron of Stowe, Masland of Thetford, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Molloy of Arlington, Monti of Barre City, Mullin of Rutland Town, Nitka of Ludlow, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, Osman of Plainfield, Paquin of Fairfax, Partridge of Windham, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Pugh of South Burlington, Rusten of Halifax, Seibert of Norwich, Severance of Colchester, Sweaney of Windsor, Symington of Jericho, Tracy of Burlington, Vincent of Waterbury, Vinton of Colchester, Waite of Pawlet, Webster of Brattleboro, Westman of Cambridge, Wheeler of Burlington, Woodward of Johnson, Young of Orwell and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Whereas, it is incumbent upon the people of the State of Vermont and the nation to recognize and acknowledge those within our midst who have made significant sacrifices so that we, as citizens, could retain the freedoms we so enjoy, and

Whereas, the citizens of this great state and nation must never forget the courage these brave men and women demonstrated as they bravely fought for the country they loved, and

Whereas, on May 1, 2000, a delegate from government and a veterans’ organization representative met with James Tolbert, Jr., Executive Director of Stamp Services for the United States Postal Service, to plead for the issuance of a Purple Heart stamp, and

Whereas, the group was informed that stamps could not be issued for veterans service organizations because there are too many such organizations, and

Whereas, the Badge of Military Merit and the Purple Heart have historical significance; the Badge of Military Merit was designed by major Pierre Charles L’Enfant, the man who designed the layout of Washington, D. C. and for whom the postal service headquarters complex is named, and

Whereas, the Citizens Advisory Committee was established in 1957 to keep politics out of the stamp issuance process, and has exclusive control over the illustrations on all stamps, and

Whereas, even though the United States Senate has passed a unanimous resolution supporting the Purple Heart stamp, and the United States House of Representatives has a resolution with over 200 cosponsors, it may have no effect, and

Whereas, it would seem that the fate of the Purple Heart stamp is now in the hands of the public, who has the option of writing support letters to the chairman of the Citizens Advisory Committee, and

Whereas, the veterans, who gave so selflessly during times of crisis, are worthy and due full recognition for their sacrifices during patriotic efforts for their country, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly urges the United States Postal Service’s Citizens Advisory Committee to authorize the issuance of a Purple Heart Stamp, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mr. James Tolbert, Executive Director of Stamp Services for the United States Postal Service, Postmaster General William J. Henderson, Dr. Virginia Noelke, Chairperson of the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee, and to each member of the Vermont Congressional Delegation.