Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-98. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the Burlington High School Seahorses’ 2001 Division I championship boys’ basketball team.

(J.R.H. 69)

Offered by: Representatives Wright of Burlington, Donovan of Burlington, Driscoll of Burlington, Hingtgen of Burlington, Keogh of Burlington, Kiss of Burlington, Larson of Burlington, Little of Shelburne, Tracy of Burlington, Wheeler of Burlington and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Whereas, the Burlington High School Seahorses boys’ basketball team opened the 2000-2001 campaign resolutely determined to win the Division I title, and

Whereas, the Seahorses confidently dribbled, passed and shot their way into their third consecutive Division I championship game, and

Whereas, before a highly enthusiastic, hometown crowd at the University of Vermont’s Patrick Gymnasium, the first-seeded Seahorses (21-2) tipped-off against the fifth-seeded Spaulding Crimson Tide (17-6) for the coveted Division I state championship title, and

Whereas, the outstanding efforts of B.J. Robertson, who led the scoring tally with 23 points, including 14 consecutive ones at the start of the decisive fourth quarter, Muji Karim, who followed close behind with 21 points for the evening, and Derek Trono, whose off-balance three-pointer at the closing buzzer of the third quarter highlighted his 15-point contribution, inspired every Seahorse player, and

Whereas, despite a literally last minute Crimson Tide surge, which narrowed the Seahorses’ lead to 76-72 with a mere 44.3 seconds remaining in regulation play, Burlington’s experience and fortitude enabled the Seahorses to emerge victorious with a 79-74 win and the Division I championship basketball title, and

Whereas, the Seahorses’ Peadi Bevins, Brendan Mahoney, Cormac Walsh, Brian Lavigne, Mick Leddy, Derek Trono, Trae Brown, Mujahid Karim, Misbah Karim, B.J. Robertson, Husain Karim, David Tao, Matt Leclair, Michael Simpson and Tom Walsh, all merit commendation for their important roles in contributing to this special Seahorse season, and

Whereas, Head Coach Tom Obbagy and Assistant Coach Beverlis Robertson were the linchpin to the team’s success, and

Whereas, the Seahorses’ support staff of statisticians Ben Koenigsberg and Kestrel Linder, manager Andrew Siple, and athletic trainer Andy Filion deserve recognition for their dedication to the team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2001 Burlington High School Seahorses Division I championship boys’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Burlington High School Athletic Director, Jeanne Hulsen.