Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-97. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the Bellows Falls Union High School Terriers 2001 Division II championship girls’ basketball team.

(J.R.H. 68)

Offered by: Representatives Obuchowski of Rockingham, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster and Partridge of Windham.

Whereas, the Bellows Falls Union High School Terriers’ girls’ basketball team played with zest, determination and much success throughout the 2000-2001 season, and

Whereas, this outstanding team won the coveted first seed for the post-season championship tournament, and

Whereas, the Terriers proved worthy of this top tournament ranking as they easily proceeded to the final game against the number-two-ranked Fair Haven Union High School Slaters, and

Whereas, the championship game was excitingly close as the persistent Terriers battled back from a fourth quarter five-point deficit to clinch a 51-48 victory, and

Whereas, the Terriers’ victory enabled them to clinch their second consecutive Division II crown, and

Whereas, each of the girls’ basketball Terriers, including Sydney Allen, Emma Harlow, Jenna Coffey, Dani Rayner, Jevi Rayner, Katie Harmon, Sara Hearne, Melissa Belcher, Trista Dancosse, Jessica Martin and Corey Olbrych, can be proud of her outstanding season on the hardwood floor, and

Whereas, Bellows Falls Union High School girls’ basketball Coach Jayne Barber, and her outstanding assistant coaches Russ Pickering and John Hollar, rightfully deserve much of the credit for the outstanding season of Terriers’ girls’ basketball, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly extends its congratulations to the Bellows Falls Union High School Division II girls’ basketball team on winning its second consecutive state championship title, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Jayne Barber at Bellows Falls Union High School.