Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-19. JOINT RESOLUTION TO honoring the Rutland High School Raiders 2000 Division I championship football team.

(J.R.S. 8)

Offered by: Senator Crowley of Rutland County, Senator Maynard of Rutland County and Senator Bloomer of Rutland County.

Whereas, the 2000 Rutland High School football Raiders entered the Division I championship game against the Essex High School Hornets, having not sustained any losses to a Vermont team, and

Whereas, having last captured the ultimate gridiron victory in 1997, the Raiders were anxious to regain the championship, and

Whereas, from the opening kickoff, these nearly evenly-matched teams were engaged in an extremely close contest, and

Whereas, the Raider defense proved alert and nimble, as Andrew Pisanelli suddenly intercepted an Essex offensive pass in the end zone with less than two minutes left in the first half, a feat which earned him the game ball, and

Whereas, a scoreless tie continued until late in the last quarter when Raider quarterback Sean Hurley, confronted with a strategically difficult fourth down with 14 yards to go for a first down, threw the ball for a touchdown to Josh Finley, who, despite three Hornet defensemen in his immediate midst, caught the ball in the end zone for perhaps the most historic catch in the history of Rutland High School football, and an ultimate 7-0 game victory, and

Whereas, the strong season-long performances of every Raider team member, including Andrew Pisanelli, Mike Casella, Ben Barone, Justin Davis, Joshua Finley, Quinn Meisinger, Ryan Sharp, Neiman Groce, Sean Hurley, Jesse Rowe, Brendan Lawes, Mike Delehanty, Samuel Conway, Macky McLeod, Corey Czarnecki, Matthew Austin, Preston Nicholas, George Cesarski, Ryan Chamberlain, Bryan Clark, Ross Campbell, Scott Drew, James Thomson, David Sly, John Carpenter, Mike Potter, Jon Reynolds, Jake Ward, Timothy Williamson, Anthony Purdy, Adam Root, Andrew Traynor, George Foster, Greg Wallett, Mike Fredette, Thomas Potash, Jonathan Merrifield, Daniel Pratico, Nick Marro, Pat Hackett, Dennis Duby, Josh Lind and Daniel Riter, resulted in the teamís 2000 Division I championship title, and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Norman, and his able assistant coaches Mickey Calaguiri, Ron Sabataso and Tom Jacques, truly inspired the Raiders on to victory, and

Whereas, the administrative and technical assistance from students Trista Harder, Jessica Gartner, Nicki Nickerson, Sean Pelletier, Liza Rogers and Dawn Shippee was always efficient and helpful, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That The General Assembly Heartily Congratulates The 2000 Division I football champions, the Rutland High School Raiders, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Head Coach Mike Norman at Rutland High School.