Download this document in MS Word 97 format

NO. R-17. JOINT RESOLUTION congratulating the 2000 Montpelier High School Solons on winning the first Division II lacrosse championship.

(J.R.H. 11)

Offered by: Representative Brooks of Montpelier, Jordan of Middlesex and Kitzmiller of Montpelier.

Whereas, lacrosse is a venerable game whose historic origins date from competitions held by Native Americans, and

Whereas, during the 1999-2000 regular season, the Solons of Montpelier High School proved their agility, stamina and strategic ingenuity as they emerged victorious in 20 of 22 matches, and

Whereas, Montpelier's outstanding play occurred at a fortuitous moment as the year 2000 marked the inaugural season of lacrosse playoff competition in Division II, and

Whereas, in the championship contest in Rutland, the Solons once again faced the U-32 Raiders whom they defeated in the regular season's concluding contest, and

Whereas, the Solons’ superb mastery of the game’s every intricacy was on display as they rapidly demonstrated their superior play, leading their rivals

8-0 after just one quarter, and capturing the first Division II title in lacrosse with an overwhelming 16-1 victory, and

Whereas, post-season accolades, including the Times Argus' Boys' Player of the Year Award and slots on the boys' lacrosse all-star team, were awarded to members of the Montpelier squad, and

Whereas, this outstanding team of dedicated young athletes includes Brian Whalen, Dan Hutchinson, Kevin Francke, Eric Lahr, Matt Wendorf, Colin Apple, Doug Jones, Ross Lendway, Elliot Resnicoff, Judd Marineau, Evan Gaston, Foster Post, Gabe Foster, Oliver Myer, Luke Colombo, Nate Giffin, Justin McCormick, Adam Cohen, Dan Otter, Adam Schersten, Matt Gilberston, Dylan O'Brien, Jordan King, Eric Zahm, Jon Jordan, Seth Giffin, Dave Hudson and Bill Kellogg, and

Whereas, the Solons’ triumphal success on the lacrosse field would never have occurred without the outstanding coaching and guidance of Head Coach Kit Erskine and Assistant Coaches Paul Laffal and Jason Gorzyk, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Montpelier High School Solons on winning the first Division II lacrosse championship, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Gomer Morgan, Athletic Director at Montpelier High School.