ACT NO. 68
This act creates more continuity between the federal and state laws that regulate child labor and makes technical statutory changes to clean up and clarify the language without changing the meaning. A new section is created that explains the purpose of Vermonts child labor laws which is to protect children from employment in harmful and dangerous occupations and also explains that Vermont law should reflect federal protections but continue to provide greater protection for children in Vermont where particular circumstances warrant. Vermont law will now reflect the federal law that prohibits children under sixteen from working until 7 A.M. or after 7 P.M. except from June 1 through Labor Day when a child may be permitted to work until 9 P.M. A child under 16 shall not be employed more than three hours on any day that school is in session and not more than 18 hours during any week that school is in session. Otherwise, children under 16 may work no more than eight hours a day and no more than 40 hours each week. An exemption for newspaper carriers is added to this section. Two new exemptions from the regulation of children under 14 are added, for children working for their parents who are sole proprietors of a business and newspaper carriers. The act also raises the maximum fine for child labor law violations from $10,000.00 to $20,000.00.
This act was a product of a report by the Department of Labor and Industry required by Act 69 of the 2000 session (H.597) that also added an exemption to the child labor laws for bat boys and bat girls.
Effective Date: July 1, 2001