Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 230)

Offered by: Representatives Krasnow of Charlotte, Corren of Burlington, Heath of Westford, Hingtgen of Burlington, Hummel of Underhill, Kehler of Pomfret, Metzger of Milton, Osman of Plainfield, Parizo of Essex, Severance of Colchester, Sweaney of Windsor, Tracy of Burlington, Westman of Cambridge and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Whereas, during the 1999-2000 collegiate basketball campaign, the University of Vermont Catamount women’s basketball team demonstrated a true mastery of this authentically American game, and

Whereas, the Catamounts’ 15-3 first place America East regular season record, and easy victory over the University of Maine, 77-50, in the conference tournament final game, were admirable accomplishments, and

Whereas, despite a valiant effort at the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament, in which the Catamounts overcame a halftime 32-27 deficit, and rebounded to a 48-35 lead with 12 minutes remaining in the game, their opponent Tulane University bested the Catamounts by a close final score of 65-60, and

Whereas, lady Catamount all-time scoring leader Karalyn Church, who scored a four-year colossal total of 2,317 points, was the recipient of two much deserved individual honors from the America East Conference, including player of the year and playoff tournament most valuable player, in addition to being named to the America East All-Conference First Team, as were teammates Christie Lauzon and Libby Smith, and

Whereas, first year student Morgan Hall won the conference’s Rookie of the Year award, and both she, and teammate Dawn Cressman, were named to the America East all rookie team, and

Whereas, lady Catamounts Jen MacAulay, Theresa LaRocque, AC Michaud, Rachel Bryan, Amy Mulligan, Heather Burroughs, Holly Harris and Colleen O’Brien, are also to be congratulated for their stupendous 1999-2000 basketball season performances that greatly contributed to the team’s fine record of 25 victories and only six defeats, and

Whereas, America East Coach of the Year, Keith Cieplicki and assistant coaches Jen Niebling, Nicole Andres, and Mountain MacGillivray demonstrated outstanding skill in their leadership of the Catamounts, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the University of Vermont Catamounts women’s basketball team on winning the 2000 America East conference championship, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Keith Cieplicki at the University of Vermont.