Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 207)

Offered by: Representatives Steele of Waterbury, Vincent of Waterbury, Doyle of Richmond, Towne of Berlin, Valsangiacomo of Barre City, Flaherty of South Burlington, Mazur of South Burlington, Pugh of South Burlington and Wheeler of Burlington.

Whereas, community service projects initiated by secondary school student volunteers inspire confidence in the future civic leadership that our young people will provide, and

Whereas, outstanding examples of student volunteer leadership are wonderfully exhibited in the projects of this year's Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners, a project cosponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, and

Whereas, Waterbury resident Audrey Ells Payne, a junior at Harwood Union High School, and Richmond resident, Sara Bulaga, a seventh grader at Camels Hump Middle School were honored as this year's two top Vermont winners, and will each receive a $1,000.00 prize, a silver medallion, and an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. where they will be considered, along with the other 102 state finalists, for designation as one of America's top ten youth volunteers, and

Whereas, Audrey earned this special honor as a result of her establishing a mentoring program pairing high school students and elementary school students from abusive or unstable environments, and

Whereas, Sara, inspired by the recent death of her grandmother, organized a fundraising effort at her school on behalf of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, an organization that fulfills special wishes of terminally ill children, and

Whereas, South Burlington resident Laura Megivern, a junior at South Burlington High School, organized a student group to clean local nonprofit offices, while Barre resident Troy Bressette, a Spaulding High School senior, created "Art-to-Heart" a nursing home based art therapy program, and

Whereas, in recognition of their public service efforts, Laura and Troy were designated distinguished finalists and were each presented bronze medals, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the students selected for the year 2000 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners in Vermont, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the award winners at their respective schools.