Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 127)

Offered by: Representative Masland of Thetford.

Whereas, the Panthers of Thetford Academy 1998 boys' cross country team featured an outstanding contingent of swift and steady runners, and

Whereas, throughout the fall season, the Panther runners repeatedly demonstrated their agility and perseverance on the racing course to the rousing accolades of their many fans, and

Whereas, at the 1998 state championship meet which was held on October 25 at Thetford Academy, the Thetford boys were reputed to be among the top male competitors in Division III, and

Whereas, at the starting gun that signaled the start of the decisive 5-kilometer Division III championship race, the boys of Thetford Academy were inspired by their home town supporters to run as speedily as their legs could propel them, and

Whereas, with this special motivation, the Panthers raced their best with four of the team's members finishing in the critical top ten positions, including John Milanese in second place, Caleb Masland in fifth place, Sam Perry in ninth place, and finishing in the tenth slot, Paul Wilmot, and

Whereas, these four first-tier finishers had a combined 26 points that clinched the Division III Championship for the Panthers, and

Whereas, the entire squad of Panther runners are to be commended for their stellar performances throughout the 1998 season, including, Tim DiFrancesco, Sean Duke-Crocker, Nicholas Stryker and Phil Vietje, and

Whereas, Thetford cross country coach Larry Drew deserves special recognition for his skillful leadership that helped guide his team members to the championship title, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is delighted to congratulate the Thetford Panthers 1998 Division III Championship Boys Cross Country Team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Larry Drew at Thetford Academy.