Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 84)

Offered by: Representatives Weiss of Northfield, Brooks of Montpelier, Poirier of Barre City and Smith of Sudbury.

Whereas, the Norwich University Cadets commenced the 1998-1999 hockey season with high expectations for success, and

Whereas, the entire Norwich University community anticipated the opening of the Kreitzberg Arena that would provide a state-of-the-art venue for the Cadet hockey players and their devoted fans, and

Whereas, the Cadets' strong regular season performance consisting of a resounding 23 victories and only one tie and one defeat, easily earned them the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC) East hockey tournament, the final round of which was played on the now familiar Kreitzberg Arena ice, and

Whereas, the Cadets proved worthy of this lofty placement as they triumphantly skated through the tournament and earned the right to face off against a formidable opponent from Williams College for the ECAC championship title, and

Whereas, in the final ECAC game, from the face-off, the Cadets were in command, rapidly jumping to a 3-0 lead by the 4:16 mark of the first period and continuing forward to win the game by a convincing score of 7-3, and

Whereas, the Cadets' stellar ECAC performance earned the Norwich team a berth in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III Hockey Tournament which was also held at the Northfield campus, and

Whereas, although they did not win the NCAA title, the Cadets reached the semifinal round, and their many fans in central Vermont and around the nation were very proud of their marvelous athletic accomplishment, and

Whereas, the entire squad, including Keith Aucoin, Marc Bellemare, Curt Healey, Jim Nagle, Bryce Herperger, Michael Ludwar, Warren Ayers, Greg Ducluzeau, Matt Moran, Jason Lumsden, Keith Maurice, Aaron Phelan, Casey Beaulac, Lynn Beedle, Shane Combres, Eric Marchand, Jason Mone, Dan Stone, Rob Jackson, Sean Young, Nate Eusko, Bryan Beers, Jim Mahoney, and Zig Ivanic, under the superb hockey tutelage of Coach Mike McShane, brought great honor to Norwich University and repeatedly demonstrated its hockey prowess before delighted crowds at Kreitzberg Arena, now therefore

be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly extends its congratulations to the Norwich University Hockey Team on winning the 1999 ECAC East Hockey title and for its fine performance in the NCAA Division III tournament, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Mike McShane at Norwich University.