Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 68)

Offered by: Representatives Anderson of Woodstock, Dunne of Hartland, Flory of Pittsford, Holmes of Bethel, Kehler of Pomfret, Pike of Mendon and Sweaney of Windsor.

Whereas, the students of Woodstock Union High School have excelled in their athletic and intellectual pursuits, garnering four impressive state championships during the current academic year, and

Whereas, the Woodstock Wasps Division II boys' basketball team concluded the season by winning 13 consecutive games, and repeated as state champions by soundly defeating the Randolph Galloping Ghosts by the score of 69-56, and

Whereas, the teamwork of the entire Wasp squad, including Caleb Turner, Ryan Kilcullen, Jacob Crane, Lucas Ballard, Jordan Witko, Patrick Franzen, Jesse Moore, Frederick Turner, Kenneth Hinchey, Christopher Hoskinson, Shane Lawton and Scott Sargent, and the leadership of Coach Wayne Ramey and Assistant Coach Scott Winham all contributed to the well-deserved Division II championship title, and

Whereas, in alpine skiing competition Coach Karen Dalury was leading the outstanding Wasp Boys' and Girls' teams to triumphant seasons as state champions, and

Whereas, the boys' team included Jonathan Souter, Benjamin LeBreque, Benjamin Brettel, Scott Dunn, Michael Cronin, Edward Kinney, Joseph Dunn, Colby Stetson, Patrick Clunnan and Samuel Shallow, and

Whereas, the Wasp girls' team included Kristin Pontecorvo, Suki Dalury, Cassandra Savelberg, Julia Brettel and Ashleigh Tucker, and

Whereas, while the alpine skiers and boys' basketball team were garnering their state championships, the Woodstock Union High School Forensics Team demonstrated that their skills in the art of public speaking were second to none, as they were crowned state champions, and

Whereas, the forensic team members included Leah Cole, Drew Cummings, Tita Ferick, Megan Hike and Aiden O'Neil who were under the expert guidance of Coach Gordon Ladd, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is delighted to congratulate the multi-talented championship teams of Woodstock Union High School, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coaches Wayne Ramey, Karen Dalury and Gordon Ladd at Woodstock Union High School.