Download this document in MS Word 97 format


(J.R.H. 29)

Offered by: Representatives Pugh of South Burlington, Livingston of Manchester and Perry of Richford.

Whereas, spurred by the Congressional adoption of Title IX of the federal Civil Rights Act, which guaranteed that men's and women's sports teams in the nation's colleges and universities receive equal financial support, a new era in women's athletics has emerged, and

Whereas, in commemoration of the arrival of gender equality in women's athletics, the University of Vermont Women's Center and the YWCA of Vermont, in conjunction with the Women's Sports Foundation are proud to cosponsor the second annual Women and Girls Sports Awards, and

Whereas, these awards will be presented on February 4 at the National Girls and Women in Sports Day festivities to be held at Memorial Lounge, Waterman Building on the University of Vermont Campus, and will feature as keynote speaker, Dr. Mary Turco, Assistant Professor of Women's Studies at Dartmouth College, who has authored a soon-to-be-published book entitled "Crushing the Net: The U.S. Women's Olympic Ice Hockey Team and the Road to Gold", and

Whereas, the 1999 award winners are Kelley Duran, Physically Challenged Sportswoman of the Year; Kaitlin Brooks, Christine Perry, Andrea Bedrin, Kelley Keating, Aly Cayer, Nicole Adams and Hannah Kearney, Sportsgirls of the Year; Katie Nelson, Erin Sullivan, Jennifer Martin, Erin Hazen, Kiersten von Trapp, Jessica Davis, twins Fawn Norris and Dawn Norris and Christy Zider, High School Sportswomen of the Year; Heidi Howard, College Sportswoman of theYear; Robin Pettingell, Coach of the Year; Mike Donoghue, Burlington Free Press, Women's Sports Journalist of the Year and Key Bank and Bennington Sports & Graphics, Women's Sports Businesses of the Year, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is proud to congratulate the award recipients for their outstanding contributions to the furtherance of women's athletic competition, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Janet Francis, Executive Director of the YWCA of Vermont.