Download this document in WordPerfect 6.1 format


( J.R.H. 65)

Offered by: Re presentative Holmes of Bethel.

Whereas, the Whitcomb High School Hornets Boys’ basketball teams had gallantly struggled for over a decade without capturing the state divisional championship, and

Whereas, the 1996-1997 squad, from the season’s opening tipoff exhibited unusual depth and skill on the hardwood court, and

Whereas, based on a superlative record of seasonal and playoff victories, the Hornets landed on the Division III championship court at the Barre Auditorium to face the Arlington High School Eagles, and

Whereas, within the opening moments of the game, the Hornets gained the lead which they never relinquished, and

Whereas, the Hornets’ offensive power had increased their margin to 12 points by halftime and resulted in a final overwhelmingly victorious score of 84-61, and

Whereas, this high point accumulation was attributed to skillful shooting that resulted in the Hornets sinking 52 percent of their field shots and an impressive 75 percent of their free throw line shots, and

Whereas, the individual players who were responsible for this demonstration of basketball prowess included Ryan Andrews, who lead the Hornets’ scoring with 23 points, Ryan Becker, Jae Perez, Kevin Chap and Vinnie Maloney, who hit the basket for 22, 16, 15 and 8 points respectively, and

Whereas, other significant contributors to the Hornets’ remarkable season were Robyn Richards, Bill Aldrighetti, J. R. Boslow, Ferron Griffen and Mike Whitaker, and

Whereas, coach Mike Johnson, and assistant coach Jason Lewis, inspired their team in the march towards the divisional title, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Whitcomb High School Division III champion 1996-1997 Boys’ Basketball Team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to coach Mike Johnson and to Whitcomb High School.