Download this document in WordPerfect 6.1 format


(J.R.H. 151)

Offered by: Representatives Sweetser of Essex, Blanchard of Essex, Fox of Essex,

Heath of Westford and Parizo of Essex.

Whereas, the Essex High School Hornets Girls' Basketball team had compiled a stunning record of achievement, having won four consecutive Division I Championship Titles as it entered center court on November 28 for the opening round of the Cornet Classic against Seton Catholic High School, and

Whereas, from that very first game, they demonstrated an on court basketball magic that remained consistent during the entire span of regular and post-season play, and

Whereas, when they confronted their always challenging opponents from Rice High for the Division I Championship, the Hornets performed magnificently, convincingly defeating their cofinalists by a score of 57-42, and deservedly capturing their fifth consecutive divisional crown, and

Whereas, the unsurpassed strategic and leadership skills of Hornets' Coach, Jean Robinson were most deservedly recognized when she was named the National Federation of Interscholastic Coaches Association's 1998 National Coach of the Year, and

Whereas, Libby Smith, who is the fourth highest scorer in the history of Essex High School Girls' Basketball, has been named the recipient of several special post-season awards, and

Whereas, all of the girl basketball Hornets, including Lindsay Bohlen, Kathryn Clark, Elaina Coutrayer, Jamie Librizzi, Kelly Librizzi, Erin Malone, Katie McNamara, Lauren Mongeon, Sally Norton, Maggie Triggs, and Abby Yeager, as well as team manager Amanda Horton, exemplify the very best in interscholastic sportswomanship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly extends its congratulations to the Essex High School Girls' Hornets on their fifth consecutive Division I Championship, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Jean Robinson at Essex High School.