Download this document in WordPerfect 6.1 format


(J.R.H. 139)

Offered by: Representatives Gretkowski of Burlington, Aswad of Burlington and McNamara of Burlington.

Whereas, the Burlington High School Hockey Seahorses commenced the 1997-1998 season with great excitement and anticipation, and

Whereas, this outstanding team was comprised of the finest young hockey players, and

Whereas, throughout the regular season and preliminary playoff competition, the Seahorses continued to impress both their opponents and fans as they earned admission to the Division I Championship game with an impressive 18-4 record, and

Whereas, on Saturday afternoon, February 28, 1998, the Seahorses faced off against the top-seeded BFA-St. Albans Bobwhites, little realizing that Vermont interscholastic hockey history would be made that day at the Gutterson Fieldhouse rink, and

Whereas, the two teams played consistently matched hockey throughout the first period, and

Whereas, a second-period icing call led to a series of plays, resulting in Seahorse Leighton Johnson, with the able assistance of teammates Brian Letourneau and Ryan Mable, scoring the game's only goal, and

Whereas, the stupendous defensive tactics of Burlington goalie Matt Desautels, who for the first time in the three-decade history of the Division I Hockey Championship games did not allow a single puck into his goal, will become Seahorse Hockey lore, and

Whereas, Michael Farnham, Justin Thibault, Jason Bedard, Lou Dimasi, Jonathan Relyea, Ryan Tudhope, Eric McMahon, Nate Lynn, Matt Hemingway, Justin Rathbone, Luke Smail, Alec Sutherland and William Strouse were each important contributors to the Seahorses' 1998 Division I Championship, and

Whereas, the Seahorses' coaches Brent Truchon and Dan McFall, Assistant Coaches Al Marchessault and Dan Burchard as well as Team Manager Norm Tremblay each deserves special recognition, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly extends its congratulations to the 1998 Burlington High

School Seahorses Division I Hockey Champions, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coaches Brent Truchon and Dan McFall at Burlington High School.