Download this document in WordPerfect 6.1 format


(J.R.H. 122)

Offered by: Representatives Pugh of South Burlington, Allard of St. Albans Town, Aswad of Burlington, Bjerke of Burlington, Blanchard of Essex, Bouricius of Burlington, Brady of Bennington, Buchdahl of Georgia, Fox of Essex, Fyfe of Newport City, Ginevan of Middlebury, Gretkowski of Burlington, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kehler of Pomfret, Knox of Northfield, LaBarge of Grand Isle, Lafayette of Burlington, McNamara of Burlington, Morrissey of Bennington, Nuovo of Middlebury, Parizo of Essex, Pembroke of Bennington, Poirier of Barre City, Sinnott of Bennington, Snyder of Pittsford, Starr of Troy, Sullivan of Burlington, Sweetser of Essex, Symington of Jericho, Towne of Berlin, Tracy of Burlington, Valsangiacomo of Barre City, Weiss of Northfield, Westman of Cambridge, Wheeler of Burlington, Wood of Brandon, Young of Orwell and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Whereas, for far too many years, women's athletics were relegated to an intolerably inferior status at numerous secondary and collegiate institutions, and

Whereas, it was not until the United States Congress passed Title IX of the Federal Civil Rights Act that female athletes were given the legal standing to challenge unfair discrimination that denied them equal opportunities to participate in interscholastic, intercollegiate and intermural sports programs, and

Whereas, on February 23, 1998, the University of Vermont's Women's Center, in collaboration with the YWCA of Vermont and the Women's Sports Foundation, will celebrate the accomplishments of women athletes, their dedicated coaches, as well as business and sports journalists who have enthusiastically advocated the advancement of women's athletics, and

Whereas, the University of Vermont's Professional Programs Division of Continuing Education is sponsoring a national teleconference on Title IX as part of the day's festivities, and

Whereas, the celebration will be highlighted when Women's Sports Foundation Executive Director Donna Lopiano and University of Vermont President Judith Ramaley honor the 1998 SportsGirl of the Year Award recipients at a ceremony to be held at the Marble Court of the Fleming Museum, and

Whereas, 17 outstanding young women, including Katy Perine of Middlebury, Courtney Swanda of Bennington, Margery Bolton of Bennington, Anne Dean ofBurlington, Elizabeth Smith of Essex Junction, Laura Jagielski of Grand Isle, Erin Mascolino of Jeffersonville, Sara Stanley of Westfield, Heather Moylan of Newport, Elizabeth Smith of St. Albans, Krista Calano of St. Albans, Erin Hazen of Richford, Amber Atherton of Williamstown, Elizabeth Burt of Hydeville, Sarah Elizabeth Bourne of Pittsford, Alyse Averill of Barre City and Hilary Goodrich of Berlin, are each deserving recipients of the 1998 SportsGirl of the Year Award, and

Whereas, each of these award winners is an excellent role model for other secondary women students, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates each of the 1998 SportsGirl of the Year Award winners and wishes each of them the best in their future athletic and academic pursuits, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the 1998 SportsGirl of the Year Award recipients.