Download this document in WordPerfect 6.1 format


(J.R.H. 112)

Offered by: Representative Holmes of Bethel.

Whereas, the 1997 Whitcomb Hornets Boys' Soccer Team played in a skillful manner throughout the regular season, and

Whereas, they entered the playoff competition for the Division IV title prepared to demonstrate their proficiency and prowess on the field, and

Whereas, in their initial post-season contest, the Hornets convincingly shut out their opponents from Concord Junior-Senior High School 3-0 when they dominated the second half with three successive and impressive scoring plays, and

Whereas, the Hornets turned back a well-regarded squad from Proctor, retaining the lead throughout the second half to emerge from the chilly afternoon of soccer with a 3-2 victory, and

Whereas, when they confronted their ultimate opponent from Rochester on another frigid day, the Hornets' goalie, Kory Richards repeated his fine showing against Proctor by never yielding a single goal, and

Whereas, the 1-0 championship victory was clinched by a timely goal that seniors Mitch Rhoades and Tom Taplin quickly improvised, and

Whereas, throughout the season, the enthusiastic and energetic Hornets, including Brett Forest, Bruno Lorca, Matt Newell, Kalab Orr, Jeremy Hudson, Lance Newell, Joel Chamberlin, Bill Aldrighetti, Wade Floyd, Josh Brown, Jae Perez, Dave Kendall, Luke Russ, Keith Daniels, Stacey Capron, Travis Whitmore, Brian Chap, Tom Taplin, Anthony Lewis, Tracy Richards, D. J. Craven and Jon Becker displayed great sportsmanship and played as a truly united team under the skillful leadership of Coach Tim Perreault, now therefore be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives and Senate:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 1997 Whitcomb Hornets Boys' Soccer Team on their winning the Division IV Championship, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Coach Tim Perreault at Whitcomb Junior-Senior High School.