NO. R-215.† House concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont All State Music Festival.


Offered by:† Representatives Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of South Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Bohi of Hartford, Branagan of Georgia, Brooks of Montpelier, Cross of Winooski, Crowley of West Rutland, Donovan of Burlington, Endres of Milton, Fallar of Tinmouth, Gray of Barre Town, Head of South Burlington, Hingtgen of Burlington, Hummel of Underhill, Kainen of Hartford, Keogh of Burlington, Kiss of Burlington, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Larson of Burlington, Lippert of Hinesburg, Monti of Barre City, Nitka of Ludlow, Seibert of Norwich, Symington of Jericho, Tracy of Burlington, Valliere of Barre City, Wright of Burlington and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Offered by:† Senator Ayer of Addison County, Senator Bloomer of Rutland County, Senator Condos of Chittenden County, Senator Cummings of Washington County, Senator Doyle of Washington County, Senator Dunne of Windsor County, Senator Lyons of Chittenden County, Senator Maynard of Rutland County, Senator Miller of Chittenden County, Senator Mullin of Rutland County, Senator Munt of Chittenden County, Senator Scott of Washington County and Senator Snelling of Chittenden County.

Whereas, in 2003, the Vermont All State Music Festival celebrated its 76th anniversary, providing a unique opportunity for talented young musicians to gather together, share their passion for music, and learn from each other, and

Whereas, 420 outstanding music students from 62 high schools throughout Vermont were selected as participants and gathered in Barre, under the auspices of Spaulding High School, for this yearís rendition of Vermontís premier scholastic music event, and

Whereas, the city of Barre, the town of Barre, and all the citizens of these communities were honored to serve as hosts, and

Whereas, 38 marching bands representing elementary, middle, and high schools throughout Vermont paraded through downtown Barre, and the music made by these 2,600 musical marchers was heard by an enthusiastic crowd of over 4,000, and

Whereas, the Barre Police Department directed traffic with great professionalism to accommodate this large crowd of marchers and spectators, and

Whereas, Rufus Reid, professor emeritus of music at William Paterson University, and a recipient of the International Association of Jazz Educatorsí achievement and humanitarian awards led the jazz band with swinging success, and

Whereas, Michael Hopkins, assistant professor of music at UVM, directed the festivalís orchestra which sounded polished and melodious, and

Whereas, Pamela Perry, professor of music at Central Connecticut State University, conducted the chorus whose voices were beautifully harmonious and unified, and

Whereas, Gary Greene, professor of music at the University of Miami, struck up the concert band which was lively and filled with powerful brassy crescendos, and

Whereas, all the festivalís participating students, and their respective high schools, can be proud of their commitment to music education, and special congratulations are extended to scholarship award winners, including Luke Cole, tenor, Mill River Union High School; Travis Palmer, tenor, Rice Memorial High; Katherine Mesner-Hage, flute, Montpelier High School; Emily Bruce, flute, Champlain Valley Union High School; Eli Chalmer, composition, Montpelier High School; David McNayr, composition, Burlington High School, Kyle de Tarnowsky, the Evelyn Springfield Senior Scholarship, Mt. Mansfield Union High School, Jane Kittredge, violin, U‑32 High School; and Bridgett Dornik, the Richard W. Ellis All State Scholarship winner, Hartford High School, and

Whereas, this four‑day celebration of music was a major collaborative effort on the part of the Vermont Music Educators Association, the Vermont All State Music Festival Host Committees, Spaulding High School, the Barre Supervisory Union District #61, Vermont Principalsí Association, numerous individuals, and business sponsors who gave their time and services, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Vermont All State Music Festival for its role in showcasing Vermontís outstanding young musicians, and be it further

Resolved:† That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Steffen Parker, director of the Vermont All State Music Festival, to Brian Hoover, chair of the Vermont Principalsí Association Music Committee, to Gloria Douglas, president of the Vermont Music Educatorsí Committee, to Arthur Zorn at the Spaulding High School music department, to Cynthia Donlon and Dennis Hill, coprincipals at Spaulding High School, and to each of the scholarship winners listed in this resolution.