NO. R-135.† House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2002 U-32 High School Raiders Division IV championship football team.


Offered by:† Representatives Klein of East Montpelier, Miller of Elmore, Pelham of Calais, Smith of Morristown and Towne of Berlin.

Offered by:† Senator Cummings of Washington County, Senator Doyle of Washington County and Senator Scott of Washington County.

Whereas, the U-32 football Raiders have developed a record of success that few other Vermont high school football teams have been able to duplicate, and

Whereas, having won both the 2000 and 2001 Division IV championship crowns, and carrying a number one seeded ranking and a 27 consecutive game string of victories into the 2002 championship game against their opponents the Eagles from Mount Abraham Union High School, the Raiders seemed assured of another state title, and

Whereas, the path which led to victory demonstrated that no game can be taken for granted, and

Whereas, the Raiders kicked off the first period in great style, combining a touchdown and two-point play to jump into an early 8-0 lead, and

Whereas, not to be underestimated, the Eagles more than recovered as they scored the next two touchdowns to take a command with a 12-8 lead, and

Whereas, at the 7:20 mark of the fourth quarter, with the Raiders still trailing, junior Jeff Butterfield ignited his teamís adrenalin when he intercepted the Eaglesí quarterbackís pass and carried the ball for 23 yards to Mt. Abrahamís 37‑yard line, and

Whereas, the drive to the championship remained in peril as the Raiders needed to survive two fourth-and-one situations to continue, and

Whereas, having raised his teammatesí hopes, Jeff Butterfield carried the ball the final six yards to score this most decisive of touchdowns with just over two minutes left to play for the 14-8 Raider triumph, and

Whereas, the spectacular U-32 team, consisting of Ian Gile, Chad Papineau, Kyle Wilson, John Jenkinson, Dewald Steenkamp, Nick Vandenberg, Jeff Butterfield, Zach Fitch, Mike Truman, Jason Wong, Mike Dupont, Dan Beem, Logan Wells, Trevor Storey, Nick Alden, Steve Beem, Austin Sayers, Scott Tassey, Alex Fuller, Justin Colgan, Kyle Magida, Clayton McLean and George Berry, brought their skills to the teamís third consecutive championship season, and

Whereas, the fine work of head coach Mike Law, assistant coaches Neil Martel, Dave Bazis, Gerald Papineau, Chris Cadorette, statistician Catie Terhune and athletic trainers Amy Otterman and Emily Clark also deserves recognition, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2002 U-32 High School Raiders Division IV championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:† That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike Law at U-32 High School in East Montpelier.